Weather Forecast


Boys tennis roundup: T-Hawks tame Braves

MONTEVIDEO — A sweep in singles and two doubles wins Monday propelled Montevideo past Benson 6-1 and into the final four of the Section 3A team tournament.

The Thunder Hawks, the No. 4 seed, will now take on top-seeded Luverne at noon today in the semifinals at Redwood Valley High School in Redwood Falls. The other semifinal — scheduled to start at 2 p.m. — will pit No. 3 MACCRAY against No. 2 Worthington. The two winners will then meet at 4 p.m. to battle for a spot in the state tournament. Luverne is the three-time defending section champion.

Montevideo, which blanked Benson 7-0 earlier in the season, won all four of the singles matches in straight sets. The Thunder Hawks’ two wins in doubles were also done in straight sets.

Benson’s lone point came at 1-doubles when Corey Goff and Brandon Gooson won in straight sets.

Montevideo 6, Benson 1


(1) Ryan Maroney, M, def. Aaron Szczur 6-2, 6-4 (2) Walker Danielson, M, def. Chad Clark 6-2, 6-3 (3) Jesse Erickson, M, def. Tyler Bergman 6-4, 6-1 (4) Colin Christians, M, def. Kyle Ruppert 6-2, 7-6 (7-2)


(1) Corey Goff/Brandon Gooson, B, def. Adam Peters/Jason Neville 7-6 (7-5), 6-3 (2) Blake Jorgensen/Devin Johnson, M, def. Nathan Habben/Josh Clark 6-1, 6-2 (3) Taylor Landmark/Jared Saue, M, def. Matt Goff/Dylan McNeill 6-1, 6-0

Luverne 7, YME 0

The Sting’s season as a team ended as the No. 5-ranked and top-seeded Luverne Cardinals won every match in straight sets.


(1) Joey Vajgrt, L, def. David Nowacki 6-2, 6-0 (2) Johnny Vajgrt, L, def. Brandon Repsher 6-0, 6-0 (3) Dustin Deutsch, L, def. Grant Elliott 6-2, 6-1 (4) Andrew Jaelken, L, def. Shane Nokleby 6-0, 6-1


(1) Scott Nelson/Blake Ziegler, L, def. Wastena Gill/Matthew Virnig 6-1, 6-1 (2) Ethan Johnson/Zach Gillette, L, def. James DeJaeger/Cody Speh 6-1, 6-0 (3) Matt Arends/Hunter Robinen, L, def. Todd Nowacki/Ammon Bennett 6-1, 6-1


Pipestone 3

No. 4-seeded MACCRAY forfeited three matches, but Philip Harms at 1-singles, Miguel Garcia at 2-singles, Andrew DuHoux/Brandon Wieberdink at 1-doubles and Nathan Eisenmenger/Connor Hagemeyer at 2-doubles won in straight sets to give the Wolverines four wins.

MACCRAY, which lost to Pipestone 5-2 three days earlier, will now take on No. 2 Worthington in the semifinals today at noon in Redwood Falls. The winner will then play for the section title against the Luverne/Montevideo winner at 4 p.m.


(1) Philip Harms, M, def. Levi Carstensen 6-0, 6-2 (2) Miguel Garcia, M, def. Trace Lueck 6-2, 6-2 (3) Jared Carlson, P, won by forfeit (4) Joe Morgan, P, won by forfeit


(1) Andrew DuHoux/Brandon Wieberdink, M, def. Nathan Baatz/Jared Schiebout 6-1, 6-2 (2) Nathan Eisenmenger/Connor Hagemeyer, M, def. William Smith/Chandier Haag 7-5, 6-2 (3) Tyse Woebler/Elijah Everson, P, won by forfeit

Section 6A

New London-Spicer 6, LPGE 1

New London-Spicer dropped just one doubles match in the first round of the Section 6A playoffs against Long Prairie-Grey Eagle on Monday.

Tyler Halvorson, Cody Treptau, Nick Freeman and Caleb Schmitz all won singles matches in straight sets.

The Wildcats doubles teams of Austin Laumb and Spencer Moller, and Jon Miller and Logan Eckhoff also won in straight sets.

The No. 4-seed Wildcats play next against top-seed Fergus Falls, which had a first-round bye, at 10 a.m. Wednesday at the College of St. Benedict in St. Joseph.

No. 2-seed Foley, which also had a bye, will play in the other section semifinal match at 2 p.m. on Wednesday.

The Falcons will play the winner of today’s match between No. 6 Minnewaska and No. 2 St. Cloud Cathedral.

The Lakers and Crusaders were rained out on Monday and the match has been rescheduled for 4 p.m. today in St. Cloud.


(1) Tyler Halvorson, N, def. Laine Larson 6-3 6-3 (2) Cody Treptau, N, def. Trevor Bergmann 7-6 (10-8) 6-2 (3) Nick Freeman, N, def. Valtteri Nurminen 6-0 6-0 (4) Caleb Schmitz, N, def. Nicholas Abraham 6-0 6-0


(1) Austin Laumb/Spencer Moller, N, def. Tavis Bergmann/Paul Chan 6-2 6-3 (2) Mitchel Welters/Ryan Welters, L, def. Eli Nelson/Ethan Chvala 7-6 (7-4) 6-3 (3) Jon Miller/Logan Eckhoff, N, def. Dan Bachmeier/Edgar Cabreza 6-3 6-1