ST. PAUL – West central Minnesota farmers in seven counties that were negatively affected by excessive wind, rain and flooding last year will be eligible to apply for federal financial assistance.

Gov. Tim Walz announced this week that the U.S. Department of Agriculture had issued primary agricultural disaster designations for the seven counties to provide financial help to farmers hit hard by adverse weather.

Producers in Yellow Medicine County, along with Beltrami, Clearwater, Kittson, Marshall, Nobles and Polk counties, can apply now for assistance, including emergency loans, from the USDA Farm Service Agency.

“2019 was a difficult year for many Minnesota farmers, with several severe weather events occurring over many months,” said Walz.

Multiple weather events in August and November, including a tornado, high winds and excessive rain and flooding, resulted in damage to west central Minnesota farm fields

“I am glad to see that the USDA FSA included all three events in their designation,” Walz said. These primary disaster declarations will provide some assistance to help our farmers recoup some of their losses.”