WILLMAR - Community Christian School presents "The Sound of Music" at 6:30 p.m. Friday and 1:30 and 6:30 p.m. Saturday at The Barn Theatre in downtown Willmar.

Tickets are $10 and available online at eventbrite.com, at the door before the performance, or by calling the CCS office at 320-235-0592.

The final collaboration between Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II was destined to become "the world's most beloved musical."

When a postulant, played by Eva Damhof, proves too high-spirited for the religious life, she is dispatched to serve as governess for the seven children of a widowed naval captain played by Thomas Bonnema.

Her growing rapport with the youngsters, coupled with her generosity of spirit, gradually captures the heart of the stern captain, and they marry. Upon returning from their honeymoon they discover that Austria has been invaded by the Nazis, who demand the captain's immediate service in their navy.

The family's narrow escape over the mountains to Switzerland on the eve of World War II provides "one of the most thrilling and inspirational finales ever presented in the theater." The motion picture version remains "the most popular movie musical of all time."

Other cast members include Madison Elmhorst, Greta Olsen, Vera Bailey, Katrina Velyan, Jonny Reid, Grace Lindgren, Kara Bonnema, Max Arnold, Pearl Bailey, Carl Benson, Kylee Tollefsrud, Ava Gustafson, Ellie DeLeeuw, Will Chapin, Anneka Olsen, Chloe Scheele, Malachi Elmhorst, Mark Arnold, Dylan Taylor, Kylee Weatherman, Micah Lindgren, Jenna Hisken, Gabbie Bollig, Elizabeth Holien and Jillian Twedt.

The play is directed by Sarah Crowe and Kristyn Clark.

The pit orchestra is conducted by Stephanie Tollefsrud. Orchestra members include Sherry Pearson, Judy Treptau, Lorie Skaro-Johnson, Molly Shumaker, Mary Pieh, Vic Treptau, Zach Treptau, Dennis Benson, Brian Pearson and Brady Pearson.

Stage managers are Jeannie Reid, Ryan Olsen, Mary Rose, Tanya Gustafson and Sarah DeLeeuw.

Costumes are by Becca Mulder and Amber Anderson.

Lighting and sound by Ace Bonnema, Jason Crowe, Sarah Crowe and Cody Miller.

Set design is by Craig Dischinger. Set crew members include Jim DeLeeuw, Ryan Lindgren, Ryan Olsen, Justin Erickson, Jason Crowe, Mitch Clark, Cody Strom, Kody Tollefsrud and Anneka Olsen.