All area counties saw a decrease in their 14-day COVID-19 case rate in Thursday’s report from the Minnesota Department of Health.

This follows several weeks of decreasing numbers of new cases in the area.

Kandiyohi County had the highest case rate in the state in the last two reports, but that is no longer the case.

A week ago, five area counties were among eight in the state that had case rates higher than 200. While there are still many counties reporting case rates in the upper 100s, only Pine County is above 200 in this week's report, which covers the period of Nov. 29 to Dec. 12.

School districts track positive cases in their buildings and consult with public health officials and other sources to determine how to operate their schools during the pandemic. The state releases the case rate report every Thursday.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

The case rate measures the county’s number of newly confirmed cases over a two-week period per 10,000 residents. The state divides the number of new cases by the number found by dividing a county’s population by 10,000.

The state considers a 14-day case rate of 10 or higher to represent an elevated risk of COVID-19 transmission in the community, especially when the level is sustained or increases over time.

This list includes the current case rate for area counties from Nov. 29 to Dec. 12 and how it changed from a week ago:

  • Big Stone County: 151.52, down
  • Chippewa County: 174.02, down
  • Kandiyohi County: 182.15, down
  • Lac qui Parle County: 193.42, down
  • Meeker County: 153.39, down
  • Pope County: 81.06, down
  • Redwood County: 135.02, down
  • Renville County: 173.90, down
  • Stearns County: 113.12, down
  • Swift County: 116.88, down
  • Yellow Medicine County: 109.44, down

Separately, the Minnesota Department of Health each week also updates its list of school buildings that reported five or more confirmed cases of COVID-19 in students or staff who were in the building while infectious during a two-week reporting period.

Area school buildings on the list are as follows: MACCRAY Senior High, Clara City; Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City Elementary, Atwater; Community Christian, Willmar; New London-Spicer Senior High, New London; Prairie Woods Elementary, New London; Willmar Senior High, Willmar; Dawson-Boyd Secondary, Dawson; Eden Valley Secondary, Eden Valley; Minnewaska Secondary, Glenwood; BOLD Senior High School, Olivia; Renville County West Elementary, Renville; Benson Secondary, Benson; Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Secondary, Kerkhoven; Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Elementary, Murdock; and Yellow Medicine East High School, Granite Falls.

School buildings may not have an ongoing transmission. Those that have not reported a new case for 28 days will be removed. If five or more cases are reported in a school building in a subsequent two-week period, they will once again be listed.

As a public service, we’ve opened this article to everyone regardless of subscription status. If this coverage is important to you, please consider supporting local journalism by clicking on the subscribe button in the upper right-hand corner of the homepage.