Weather Forecast


Area school board races set for November

WILLMAR — Most area school districts will elect school board members in the Nov. 6 general election.

Filing for these offices closed Tuesday, and there is no primary for these races. Everyone who filed will be on the November ballot.

This list was built from information on the website of the Minnesota Secretary of State and from area school districts on Friday. The lists may not be complete for some districts. Unless described otherwise, the terms will last four years.

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City

Incumbents Michael Hendrickson, Megan Morrison, Paul Rasmussen and Scott Stafford filed to run for the four seats on the board.


Ron A. Hanson, Eric Peterson, incumbent Jodi DeJong-Hughes and incumbent Chad Payne filed to run for a two-year term.

Incumbent Paul Carruth, James Berens, incumbent Tammy Gunlogson and Brian Samuelson filed to run for three four-year terms.


Sandra Benson, Jamie Bohlin, incumbent Jill Hanson and incumbent Russ Lesniak filed to run for three seats.


Todd Rudningen, incumbent Tom Walsh and incumbent Harmon Wilts filed to run for three seats on the board.


Incumbents Darrin Anderson, Greg Mathews and Marcia Provencher filed to run for three seats on the board.


Incumbent Joe Helgeson, Polly Kruger, Kelly Snell and incumbent Andrew Stenson filed to run for three seats.

New London-Spicer

Del Brouwer, Gary Danielson, Josue Gamez, incumbent Cherrish Holland, Larry D. Nelson, Mark Peterson, Kristina Reuss, Walton H. Smith III, Jeff Vetsch and Nancy Wehseler filed for four seats.

Renville County West

Incumbents Darin Bratsch and Ryan Lippert filed to run for three seats.

Linda Vanderwerf

I cover education issues for the West Central Tribune and have worked for the paper since 1995. I have worked in journalism since 1981.

Follow me on Twitter: @lindavanderwerf

(320) 214-4340