Kandiyohi County, Willmar primary results updated with additional absentee figures

The results of the Aug. 11 primary races in Willmar and Kandiyohi County have been updated to reflect additional absentee ballots postmarked in time and received by Thursday. The tallies are not official until the canvassing board meets Friday.

Election 2020 logo graphic

WILLMAR — While votes remain unofficial until the canvassing board meets Friday morning, updated primary election totals that include additional absentee ballots received by Thursday have been posted in Kandiyohi County District 5 and Willmar's Ward 1.

Lester J. Heitke and Michael O'Brien will advance to the general election to seek a seat on the Willmar City Council.

Council candidates and their total votes as of 4:55 p.m. Thursday on the Secretary of State's website are as follows:

  • Lester J. Heitke: 134
  • Michael O'Brien: 127
  • Steven P. Dresler: 99

Kandiyohi County Commissioner candidates Duane Anderson and John O. Cunningham will advance to the general election.
Total votes as of 5 p.m. Thursday are as follows:

  • Duane Anderson: 472
  • John O Cunningham: 415
  • Harlan Madsen: 110

Madsen was listed as a candidate and received a small percentage of votes despite suspending his campaign in June due to health concerns.



What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.
Mike Clemens, a farmer from Wimbledon, North Dakota, was literally (and figuratively) “blown away,” when his equipment shed collapsed under a snow load.