Candidates begin to file for elected positions in Kandiyohi County, Willmar and Minnesota Legislature

The filing period for candidates running for elected office opened on Tuesday. There are already a handful of candidates that have filed for open offices in Kandiyohi County and Willmar, as well as Minnesota House District 16B.

Vote button on American flag
Candidates have begun to file for state, Kandiyohi County and city of Willmar elected offices.
We are part of The Trust Project.

Editor's Note: Updated to add information about the filing of George "Corky" Berg, who was inadvertently missed when story was initially published.

WILLMAR — Only two days into the filing period for those interested in running for elected office, there are already a handful of candidates who have filed their affidavit of candidacy, either with the city of Willmar or Kandiyohi County.

The candidate filing period runs from May 17 through May 31. A primary election, if needed, will take place on Aug. 9, with the general election to follow on Nov. 8.


Dave Baker, who has represented the city of Willmar and portions of Kandiyohi County in the Minnesota House of Representatives for nearly eight years, has filed to run for a fifth term.

Dave Baker.jpg
Dave Baker

Due to redistricting, Baker is now running for District 16B, which includes more of Kandiyohi County. He previously represented northern portions of the county. Redistricting added the communities of Raymond, Blomkest and Prinsburg and the townships of Edwards, Holland and Roseland to the district.


Baker, who lives in Willmar with his wife, Mary, owns Baker Hospitality Inc., which operates the Grandstay Hotel and Event Center located between Spicer and New London, Green Lake Cruises in Spicer and Willmar’s Super 8.

Kandiyohi County

There are three Kandiyohi County Board of Commissioners seats up for election this year — Districts 1, 3 and 5.

George Corky Berg, Kandiyohi County Commissioner District 1
George "Corky" Berg

George "Corky" Berg will be running for reelection in County Commissioner District 1. It will be for his second term. He worked 28 years for Kandiyohi County Human Services as a social worker and then its director.

073120.N.WCT.Duane Anderson_0005.jpg
Duane Anderson

Just two years after having won his seat on the County Board, Duane Anderson has filed to run for re-election in District 5. Anderson has to run again due to redistricting, which added the city of Pennock and St. Johns Township to the district.

Anderson, of Lake Lillian, served for decades on the East Lake Lillian Township Board before deciding to run for county commissioner. He replaced Harlan Madsen in 2020. He is also a longtime farmer.

So far two candidates have filed to run for the Kandiyohi County Board seat in District 3, currently held by Rollie Nissen.

Kim Larson, of Willmar, has filed to run for the County Board in District 3. Dale H. Anderson, of Belgrade, has also filed to run.

The district covers a small portion of northern Willmar, along with the townships in the northwest quarter of the county. No longer part of the district are Pennock and St. Johns Township, which moved to District 5.


Shane Baker.jpg
Shane Baker
Macy Moore / West Central Tribune
Eric Holien.png
Kandiyohi County Sheriff Eric Holien
Eric Tollefson, current Kandiyohi County Sheriff's Sergeant, running for sheriff in 2022
Eric Tollefson

Also up for election this year are the Kandiyohi County sheriff and attorney. Current County Attorney Shane Baker has filed to run for re-election, for what would be his third full term.

There are two candidates running for Kandiyohi County Sheriff.

Current Sheriff Eric Holien has filed to run for his second term. Prior to his election he served as a law enforcement officer for Kandiyohi County, Meeker County and the Lower Sioux Tribal Police.

Also running for sheriff is Eric Tollefson. He has served the Kandiyohi County Sheriff's Office for 26 years, first as a detective and then as a patrol sergeant.


Zeke Dahl has filed to run for the mayor of Willmar. It will be his second attempt, having run also in 2018, a race that was won by current Mayor Marv Calvin.

Zeke Dahl
The West Central Tribune was witness to many changes in 2022, from elections to education to infrastructure improvements.
Willmar Mayor Marv Calvin, during an interview Tuesday with West Central Tribune, reflected on what went well and what could have been better during his time leading the city.
From the commentary: Voters secured key victories across the country to make our government work better. The post-election chaos of 2020 did not repeat itself.
In November, Trump-backed Lake lost the governor's race to Hobbs but refused to concede and continued making unconfirmed claims about election improprieties on her Twitter feed.

Shelby Lindrud is a reporter with the West Central Tribune of Willmar. Her focus areas are arts and entertainment, agriculture, features writing and the Kandiyohi County Board.

She can be reached via email or direct 320-214-4373.

What To Read Next
The three customer service representatives at Willmar Municipal Utilities are the first point of contact with customers, helping with everything from turning on or transferring service to avoiding disconnection. All customer service goals for 2022 were met.
The Tribune publishes Records as part of its obligation to inform readers about the business of public institutions and to serve as a keeper of the local historical record. All items are written by Tribune staff members based on information contained in public documents from the state court system and from law enforcement agencies. It is the Tribune’s policy that this column contain a complete record. Requests for items to be withheld will not be granted.
Sarah Swedburg, the business development manager for the Kandiyohi County and City of Willmar Economic Development Commission, was recognized Thursday night as Emerging Young Professional of the Year by the Economic Development Association of Minnesota for her achievements in economic and community development in Kandiyohi County.
Area funerals scheduled through Feb. 4, 2023