GOP incumbents re-elected to Legislature across west central Minnesota

These are the unofficial results of the 2022 election for county level offices in west central Minnesota, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office.

Minnesota Capitol
Minnesota Capitol
Forum News Service photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

WILLMAR — Republicans swept west central Minnesota Senate and House races on Nov. 8.

Meanwhile Minnesota Democrats kept their House majority, secured a Senate majority and swept all the statewide Minnesota offices, including re-electing Gov. Tim Walz.

The west central Minnesota legislative delegation will include one new member, Dawn Gillman of Dassel in House 17A, which includes parts of Renville, Meeker, McLeod and Wright counties.

The Senate DFL caucus elected a Twin Cities-centric leadership team Thursday, led by Minneapolis Sen. Kari Dziedzic as majority leader starting in January.

Senate Republicans, newly in the minority, on Thursday chose Sen. Mark Johnson, from East Grand Forks, as the minority leader starting in January.


The House DFL caucus, remaining in the majority, chose Melissa Hortman of Brooklyn Park to continue as House Speaker.

The House Republicans have yet to vote on their party leaders for the 2023 session.

The following unofficial results are reported from the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office except where noted.

District 12

Senate 12: Incumbent Torrey Westrom, R, was re-elected with 26,179 votes over Kari Dorry, DFL, with 10,813 and Ashley Klingbeil, We the People, with 1,485.

House 12A: Incumbent Paul H. Anderson, R, was re-elected with 13,281 votes over Edie Barrett, DFL, with 5,388.

House 12B: Incumbent Mary Franson, R, was re-elected with 13,756 votes over Jeremy Vinar, DFL, with 5,908.

District 13

Senate 13: Incumbent Jeff Howe, R, was re-elected with 27,295 votes over Alissa Brickman, DFL, with 11,647.

House 13A: Incumbent Lisa Demuth, R, was re-elected with 15,190 votes over Andrea Robinson, DFL, with 5,324.


House 13B: Incumbent Tim O'Driscoll, R, was re-elected with12,256 votes over Melissa Bromenschenkel, DFL, with 6,092.

More Election 2022:
The West Central Tribune was witness to many changes in 2022, from elections to education to infrastructure improvements.
Willmar Mayor Marv Calvin, during an interview Tuesday with West Central Tribune, reflected on what went well and what could have been better during his time leading the city.
From the commentary: Voters secured key victories across the country to make our government work better. The post-election chaos of 2020 did not repeat itself.
In November, Trump-backed Lake lost the governor's race to Hobbs but refused to concede and continued making unconfirmed claims about election improprieties on her Twitter feed.
The election, strikes and the abortion debate made headlines in Minnesota this year.
The Renville County decision to make the auditor/treasurer an appointed position follows the resignation of newly re-elected Auditor/Treasurer Marc Iverson.
From the commentary: In our ongoing quest for a more perfect union, ranked-choice voting is a proven upgrade to provide better elections for all.
By the Echo Press Editorial Board
An editorial cartoon by Dave Granlund.
From the commentary: In changing their presidential nominating process, Democrats are becoming more democratic. They are also growing smarter. ... Democrats are learning how to win.

District 15

Senate 15: Incumbent Gary Dahms, R, was re-elected with 25,781 votes over Anita Gaul, DFL, with 10,417.

House 15A: Incumbent Chris Swedzinski, R, was re-elected with 12,446 votes over Keith VanOverbeke, DFL, with 5,225.

House 15B: Incumbent Paul Torkelson, R, was re-elected with 13,445 votes over Tom Kuster, DFL, with 5,075

District 16

Senate 16: Incumbent Andrew Robert Lang, R, was re-elected with 24,607 votes over Fernando Alvarado, DFL, with 10,692.

House 16A: Incumbent Dean Urdhal, R, was re-elected with 12,986 votes over Robert M. Wright, DFL, with 4,714.

House 16B: Incumbent Dave Baker, R, was re-elected with 12,840 votes over Fred Cogelow, DFL, with 4,795.


District 17

Senate 17: Incumbent Glenn Gruenhagen, R, was re-elected with 27,810 votes over Chad Tschimperle, DFL, with 11,797.

House 17A: Dawn Gillman, R, was elected with 13,431 votes over Jennifer Carpentier, DFL, with 5,659.

District 29

Senate 29: Incumbent Bruce Anderson, R, was re-elected with 26,505 votes over Chris Brazelton, DFL, with 12,422.

House 29A: Incumbent Joe McDonald, R, was elected with 14,798 votes over Sherri Leyda, DFL, with 6,115.

More by Kelly Boldan
The Jan. 4 print edition has been delivered to the U.S. Post Office and should be delivered with your next available postal delivery depending upon road conditions.
On Tuesday, a storm over parts of the Middle Mississippi Valley will slowly move eastward to the Lower Great Lakes by Thursday. The system will produce snow, rain, and freezing rain from Northern Plains to the Upper Great Lakes.
A Winter Storm Warning has been issued for west central Minnesota from Monday afternoon through Tuesday evening. Total snow accumulations of 7 to 12 inches is possible.
A possible significant winter storm may arrive in west central Minnesota Monday afternoon.
A collection of weather-related tweets and other information concerning the approaching storm of Jan. 2-3, 2023.
The National Weather Service extended forecast says west central Minnesota may see another winter storm system Monday and Tuesday.
Here are the top-viewed sports stories on ranked by the individual story's pageviews for 2022.
Here are the top-viewed news stories on ranked by the individual story's pageviews for 2022.
The National Weather Service reported high winds gusts Friday across west central Minnesota.
While Willmar Municipal Utilities late Friday asked residents to continue to keep conservation in mind, the request from earlier Friday evening to immediately reduce electricity usage within the city has ended.

Kelly Boldan has been editor of West Central Tribune and in Willmar, Minnesota, since October 2001. He joined Forum Communications Co. in November 1998 as editor of the Bemidji (Minn.) Pioneer.
Boldan can be reached via email: or telephone: 320-214-4331.
What To Read Next
The Tribune publishes Records as part of its obligation to inform readers about the business of public institutions and to serve as a keeper of the local historical record. All items are written by Tribune staff members based on information contained in public documents from the state court system and from law enforcement agencies. It is the Tribune’s policy that this column contain a complete record. Requests for items to be withheld will not be granted.
Sarah Swedburg, the business development manager for the Kandiyohi County and City of Willmar Economic Development Commission, was recognized Thursday night as Emerging Young Professional of the Year by the Economic Development Association of Minnesota for her achievements in economic and community development in Kandiyohi County.
Area funerals scheduled through Feb. 4, 2023
Single-digit temperatures couldn't deter the masses from voluntarily jumping into a frozen lake Saturday in the name of fundraising for Special Olympics at the annual Spicer WinterFest.