League of Women Voters of the Willmar Area sets election candidate forums

The League of Women Voters of the Willmar Area plans several 2022 election candidate forums over the next few weeks.

2022 Election campaign button
2022 Election campaign button.
Felipe Sanchez -
We are part of The Trust Project.

WILLMAR — Next week begins a series of 2022 election candidate forums conducted by the League of Women Voters of the Willmar Area.

Forums are planned in New London, Spicer and Willmar, but according to the announcement from the League of Women Voters, no audience will be present due to COVID-19 concerns.

Questions from the public may be emailed in advance to . The forums will be shown live on WRAC-8 and also may be streamed on the Facebook page of the League of Women Voters of the Willmar Area .

  • A forum for New London-Spicer School Board candidates is planned from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 28, in New London. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State candidate filing page , there are four seats to be decided and five candidates filed: Del Brouwer, Darryl Nelson, Laura Nelson, Trish Perry and Mark Peterson.
More 2022 election news:
From the commentary: That is the silver lining, if there is one, of today’s bitter, culturally charged partisan warfare: It has made civic engagement more meaningful for millions of citizens,
$401 million race was nation’s most expensive
The case has come to the Supreme Court at a time of heightened concern over U.S. election integrity in light of new voting restrictions pursued by Republican state legislatures.
Analysts say those votes likely tilted Democratic, which will require strong Election Day turnout by Walker's Republican supporters. Opinion polls have shown a narrow lead for Warnock.
Students from BOLD, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg and Dawson-Boyd public schools participated in Students Voting 2022, a state-run mock election program.
From the editorial: Rep. Katie Porter, D-Calif., introduced a bill last year to prohibit campaign committees from accepting money from lobbyists registered with a foreign country. Considering that
A summary page of recent polls on
Stephen Emery won election as county attorney, but resigned "effective immediately." The county commissioners appointed current office holder Mark Gruenes for a second time.
From the editorial: The lame ducks of Congress in Washington must finish their work.
Election deniers were axed by voters on Election Day 2022.

  • The Spicer mayor candidates are invited to a one-hour forum at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5, in Spicer. Dennis “Denny” Baker and Jesse Gislason have filed for mayor. 
  • A one-hour forum for candidates of the Spicer City Council will follow immediately after the Spicer mayor forum, starting at 7:35 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5. Two seats are to be decided and three filed for office: Troy S. Block, Zachary Larson and Shelly Munyon.
  • Forums slated Thursday, Oct. 6, in Willmar will feature candidates for Kandiyohi County offices. A forum is set at 5 p.m. for the Kandiyohi County sheriff’s race between Eric Holien and Eric Tollefson.
  • Kandiyohi County Commissioner District 3 will be featured at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 6. Candidates on the November ballot are Dale Anderson and Kim Larson.
  • Candidates for Minnesota Senate District 16 and House District 16B have been invited to participate in one-hour forums on Tuesday, Oct. 11, in Willmar. Senate candidates will be featured at a 5 p.m. forum. Andrew Lang and Fernando Alvarado are seeking the office.
  • Dave Baker and Fred Cogelow are seeking the House 16B seat. That race will be featured at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 11.
  • A one-hour forum is slated at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 12, in New London for City Council candidates in that city. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State's office, three people have filed for two seats: Erik Hatlestad, Tim Johnson and Heidi Manson.
  • The final forums on the schedule are Thursday, Oct. 13, in Willmar. From 4:45 to 6:15 p.m., candidates for the Willmar School Board are invited to participate. Three seats are to be decided. Five candidates filed for office: Mary Amon, Steve Biesterfeld, Randy Frederickson, Jay Lawton and Laura Weatherby.
  • Candidates for Willmar mayor will be featured at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 13. Steve Peppin and Doug Reese are on the ballot in November.
Susan Lunneborg is the news editor of the West Central Tribune in Willmar, Minnesota. A journalist for more than 25 years, she has worked as a reporter and editor at newspapers in the Dakotas and Minnesota.
Lunneborg can be reached at: or 320-214-4343.
What to read next
Now disbarred, former Willmar attorney Gregory Anderson pleaded guilty to fraud in hiding business assets of the former Mayor of Kerkhoven in bankruptcy proceedings.
Area funerals scheduled through Dec. 16, 2022
The Tribune publishes Records as part of its obligation to inform readers about the business of public institutions and to serve as a keeper of the local historical record. All items are written by
The Kandiyohi County Board approved the appointment of Kent Bauman as the new chief deputy of the Sheriff’s Office. Bauman will start in his new role Jan. 3 under Sheriff-elect Eric Tollefson,