We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Schools & Students published Aug. 9, 2022

News about educational achievements among students from west central Minnesota.

Stock image of math symbols, drawings on a chalkboard
We are part of The Trust Project.

Alexandria Technical and Community College

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher were:

Belgrade: Lily Felling, Jebadia Jones, Marie Kaiser, Hannah Lieser

Benson: Corbin Holmquist

Brooten: Samantha Leedahl, Nolan Weber

Buffalo Lake: Ethan Grams


Glenwood: Katie Anderson, Sarah Jenks, Kaylynn Kambick, Leah Miller, Kirsten Morton, Tanner Nestor, Shannon Strutz, Chandler TeBrake, Jacob Volkmann

Hancock: Micah Koehl, Cody Messner, Holly Messner, Faith Schmidgall, Hope Schmidgall

Montevideo: Emily Nelson

Olivia: Caeden Gluesing

Paynesville: Bobbi Jo Schmitt, Maxine Solsrud

Spicer: Tanner Mord

Starbuck: Bethany Brecht, Kara Leedahl, Melanie Moss, Wyatt Zeithamer

Villard: Megan Heveron, Ellen Oeltjen


University of North Dakota

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA in the top 15 percent of the enrollment in each of the University’s degree-granting colleges and schools at the Grand Forks school were:

Clara City: Gracie Slagter

Hawick: Morgan Rolighed

Kerkhoven: Joshua Peterson, Mallory Rudningen

Madison: Brett Baldwin

Morris: Brynna Olson

Spicer: Ashlyn Olson, Wyatt Paffrath

Starbuck: Sydney Metz


Dakota Wesleyan University

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Mitchell, South Dakota, school was:

Raymond: Dannielle Burns

Southwest Minnesota State University

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Marshall school were:

Atwater: Samantha Adrian, Kera Sluka

Belgrade: Katelyn Weller

Belview: Luke Grannes

Benson: Josie Connelly

Bird Island: Blake Plass, Shayleen Skold

Boyd: Paige Clausen, Morgan Johnson

Brooten: Jacqueline Gossen

Buffalo Lake: Nicholas Taylor

Clara City: LaTia Swoyer

Clarkfield: Slade Irvine

Darwin: Makayla Nguyen

Dawson: Grace Haas, Jalynn Popma

Glenwood: Michele Stai

Granite Falls: Taylor Bakkelund, Hannah Christians, Megan Nordaune, Jonathan Pierce

Grove City: Courtney Hartmann

Hancock: Alexis Staples, Valerie Messner

Lake Lillian: Meghan McClain

Litchfield: Cole Lawrence

Madison: Mikaylah Stark

Montevideo: Willa Dissell, Ana Pineda, Paige Smit, Jared Thompson

New London: Ashley Grimsley, Trisha Thieschafer

Olivia: Jared Cornish, Jack Hanson, Courtney Hedeen, Ella Mages, Paige Plumley, Camille Weber

Paynesville: Amanda Meyer, Taylor Haines

Pennock: Gavin Rohner Erickson

Renville: Ashley Roelofs, Topanga Hinojosa

Sacred Heart: Lauren Terhaar

Starbuck: Amanda Wevley

Willmar: Kaitlin Delfosse, Megan Elliott, Yesenia Gomez Ciriaco, Kaitlyn Kotzenmacher

Normandale Community College

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Bloomington school were:

Raymond: Tessa Grewe

Spicer: Henry Ahrenholz

Palmer College of Chiropractic

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Davenport, Iowa, school was:

Benson: Taner Gimberlin

UM-Twin Cities

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.66 or higher at the University of Minnesota school in the Twin Cities were:

Appleton: Braden Raddatz, Maggie Raddatz

Atwater: Levi Lilleberg

Belgrade: Joseph Thompson

Benson: Madison Heidelberger, Emma Heinzig, Eric Hoium, Matthew Laumeyer

Blomkest: Erin Johnson

Clarkfield: Jakob Christopherson, Shelby Christopherson

Darwin: Izabella Maher, Makayla Maher

DeGraff: Madison Gelhar

Glenwood: Hannah Orlowski

Granite Falls: Emilee Speh

Kandiyohi: Kyle Knofczynski

Litchfield: Neyda Camacho, Tyson Michels, Lillian Osterberg, Emily Storm, George Tepfer

Montevideo: Jada Ashling, Anisah Carson, Hayden Huber, Emily Olson

New London: Erich Feist, Nathan Klaers, Paige Vagle

Olivia: Miranda Johnson

Paynesville: Rogan Isbell

Pennock: James Cook

Spicer: Carter Andresen, Ivy Bolle, Annie Dykema, Maddie Gabrielson, Luke Gerhardson, Lydia Morrell, Diego Rojas, Madeleine Schiller

Starbuck: Jared Strickler

Villard: Steven Talberg

Willmar: Daniel Halvorson, Paige Jansons, Natasha Klatt, Emily Malmgren, Serena Mobley, Madison Radermacher, Dylan Saue, Andrew Schultz

Bethel University

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.6 or higher at the St. Paul school were:

Atwater: Tyler Kaisner

Benson: Samuel Grussing, Courtney McNeill

Bird Island: James Woelfel

Clara City: Jacob Meyer, Carter Wrede

Clarkfield: Signe Christensen

Dawson: Madeline Aafedt

Madison: Karly Siedschlag

Spicer: Julia Goetzman, Jacob Holmen, Samuel Mellema

Villard: Ally Albers

Willmar: Megan Bloomquist, Sadie Raitz

Related Topics: EDUCATION
Donna Middleton started working at the West Central Tribune in 1975 and has been the news assistant since 1992. She compiles the arts, health, farm and community page calendars, as well as rewrites and works on the special sections.
She can be contacted at dmiddleton@wctrib.com or phone 320-214-4341.
What to read next
Area funerals scheduled through Oct. 6, 2022
Following a months-long application process and an intense day of interviews Tuesday, Kelsey Baker was named the Kandiyohi County Board's choice for the county's next administrator. For the past five years, Baker has served as the administrator for Swift County, and it was that experience that put Baker above the other two finalists.
The Tribune publishes Records as part of its obligation to inform readers about the business of public institutions and to serve as a keeper of the local historical record. All items are written by Tribune staff members based on information contained in public documents from the state court system and from law enforcement agencies. It is the Tribune’s policy that this column contain a complete record. Requests for items to be withheld will not be granted.
Willmar City Council on Sept. 19 approved a THC ordinance and an amendment to the 2022 fee schedule to incorporate the new fee.