Schools & Students published Jan. 31, 2023

News about educational achievements among students from west central Minnesota.

Stock image of math symbols, drawings on a chalkboard

Garcia selected for Jazz Honor Band

WILLMAR — Miguel Garcia has been selected to the Minnesota Band Directors' Association State Jazz Honor Band.

Garcia, a sophomore at Willmar SEnior High School, was selected as lead alto saxophone. Students submit an audition consisting of scales, jazz etudes and improvisation.

Mug shot of Miguel Garcia, Grade 10, Willmar High School
Miguel Garcia, Grade 10, Willmar High School<br/>
Contributed | Willmar Public School

The State Jazz Honor Band is an opportunity for talented young musicians from across Minnesota to join together in the performance of quality jazz ensemble literature. The ensemble will be directed by David Hagedorn, jazz professor at St. Olaf College.

Members will perform in concert at the Minnesota Music Educators' Association mid-winter clinic on Feb. 17 in the Minneapolis Convention Center.

Willmar students participate in area honor band

WILLMAR — Willmar Public School had 12 band students in the Southwest Minnesota Band Directors' Association Regional Honor Band in Marshall on Jan. 21.


The students were nominated by their band directors based on their musicianship. The honor band festival featured three bands: a seventh- and eighth-grade band, a ninth- and 10th-grade band and a 11th- and 12th-grade ensemble.

The Willmar students who participated were Tristan Boehm, Stephany Corona, Leslie Jimenez, Ayven Malone, Luke McCleary, Ryan Newberg, Lisa Resendiz, Diana Siu Perez, Genesis Soto, Jaime Ulloa, Brynna Willis and Roslyn Willis.

The three bands were directed by Dr. John Ginnochio, Jim Baxter and Ronald Stary.

Group shot of Willmar Public School musicians
Willmar Public Schools band students participated in the Southwest Minnesota Band Directors' Association Regional Honor Band. Front, from left, are Ayven Malone, Diana Siu Perez, Roslyn Willis, Lisa Resendiz, Genesis Soto Back, from left, are Leslie Jimenez, Jaime Ulloa, Stephany Corona, Brynna Willis, Luke McCleary, Tristan Boehm, Ryan Newberg.
Contributed | Willmar Public School

South Dakota State University

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Brookings school were:

Appleton: Josie Munsterman


Atwater: Dana Hedberg, Rachel Wilner

Belview: Samantha Anderson, Hannah Schjenken

Benson: Alissa Maurer, Kiara Schilling

Bird Island: Jerson Kopka


Blomkest: Marisa Peterson

Buffalo Lake: Mitchell Kleeberger, April Medina

Clara City: Brynn Lozinski, Isabelle Plagge

Clarkfield: Hadleigh Olson


Cosmos: Addison Bernstein

Danube: Lauren Allex

Dawson: Braxton Hahn, Madison Hansen, Ryan Lund, Megan Mamer, Morgan Wente, Wylie Wiebe

Glenwood: Hannah Braaten, Peyton LeClair


Granite Falls: Emily Johnson, Tiana Rupp

Grove City: Brenna Anderson, Ryan Peterson

Hancock: Jennifer Solvie

Kandiyohi: Savannah Lindstrand


Litchfield: Jaritza Cazares Cruz, Wilfrido Villela

Madison: Austin Bonn, Addyson Bonn, Kadyn Fernholz, Emily Kennedy, Kelsey Loterbauer, Chloe Ludvigson, Ashley McFarland, Jakob Peterson, Alexandra Sather, Ezekiel Sather, Aaliyah Schommer

Montevideo: Amery Arends, Kaden Boike, Noah Buseman, Cali Christianson, Kori Douglas, Seth Kuno, Cortney Pauling, Gabrielle Santaella, Dylan Spray

Morris: Jacqueline Boots, Alexander Daugherty, Maria Gallegos, Justus Moser, Sydney Solvie

New London: Hayden Christopherson, Olivia Gabrielson, Annika Spors

Olivia: Molly Hildreth, Lanie Mages, Jordan Sagedahl

Paynesville: Lana Elfering, Savannah Gruber

Redwood Falls: Adam Bommersbach, Jaydon Estebo, Andrew Fischer, Abby Gilk, Bryant Haas, Katherine Hawton, Alex Louwagie, Catherine Maddock, Logan Prouty, Alexa Steffl, Janessa Whitaker

Renville: Natalie Beckendorf, Makenna Bruns, Morgan Haen

Spicer: Landin Brink, Brody Lien, Tate Newman, Jacob Rosendahl

Starbuck: Kyerra Carter, Nathan Rankin

Villard: Laureen Walter

Watson: Sidney Gerdes

Willmar: Adeline Cruze, Aidan Donelan, Marin Enstad, Leah Hansen, Tyler Ludwig, Caitlin Ogdahl, Madyson Spencer, Brandt Sunder, Riley Zammert


Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.66 or higher at the University of Minnesota school in Rochester were:

Grove City: Abigail Holmberg, Lilly Rick

Redwood Falls: Cameran Sommers

Valley City State University

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Valley City, North Dakota, school were:

Benson: Madison Wrobleski

Dawson: Micah Olson

Willmar: Jett Salonek

College of St. Scholastica

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.75 or higher at the Duluth school were:

Glenwood: Alicia Graham

Litchfield: Montana Linsmeier

New London: Allison Carlson

Olivia: Kendall Mack

Paynesville: Dawson Miller

Spicer: Arin Deal, McKenzie Iverson

Lake Area Technical College

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 4.0 at the Watertown, South Dakota, school was:

Atwater: Wilson Gratz

Donna Middleton started working at the West Central Tribune in 1975 and has been the news assistant since 1992. She compiles the arts, health, farm and community page calendars, as well as rewrites and works on the special sections.
She can be contacted at or phone 320-214-4341.
What To Read Next
Get Local