Schools & Students published March 29, 2022

News about educational achievements among students from west central Minnesota.

Stock image of math symbols, drawings on a chalkboard

Science & Nature Conference

MARSHALL — South West Central Service Cooperative presents the 28th annual Science & Nature Conference from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesday, May 10, at Southwest State University in Marshall.

The keynote speaker, retired meteorologist Mike Lynch will take participants to the stars with his passion for astronomy.

Designed for students in grades K-8, there will be three hands-on learning sessions.

Session options are listed in the brochure available online at along with conference details. School and parents can register at . The registration deadline is April 12. Fees are $40 for students and $10 for adults.

For more information contact Andrea Anderson at ; 507-537-2257 or Laurie Fales at ; 507-537-2270 .


UM-Twin Cities

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.66 or higher at the University of Minnesota school in the Twin Cities were:
Appleton: Maggie Raddatz
Atwater: Levi Lilleberg
Belgrade: Joseph Thompson
Benson: Madison Heidelberger, Emma Heinzig, Kaitlyn Hippe, Eric Hoium, Matthew Laumeyer
Buffalo Lake: MaVictoria Garcia
Clarkfield: Jakob Christopherson, Sophia Louwagie
DeGraff: Madison Gelhar
Glenwood: Joshua Bartels, Peyton Kolstoe, Hannah Orlowski
Granite Falls: Emilee Speh
Hancock: Emma Nelson
Hawick: Abigail Dempsey
Kandiyohi: Kyle Knofczynski
Kerkhoven: Jade Vick
Litchfield: Tyson Michels, George Tepfer
Maynard: Brett Harguth, Abby Jaenisch
Montevideo: Jada Ashling, William Bosch, Sara Erickson-Jeremiason, Emily Olson, Joshua Tastad
New London: Erich Feist, Nathan Klaers, Emily Novak, Paige Vagle
Olivia: Miranda Johnson
Paynesville: William Nichols
Pennock: James Cook
Prinsburg: Austin TeBrake
Spicer: Lukas Arnold, Annie Dykema, Maddie Gabrielson, Madeleine Schiller, Benjamin Wehseler
Villard: Steven Talberg
Willmar: Daniel Halvorson, Natasha Klatt, Emily Malmgren, Serena Mobley, Erica Schramm, Andrew Schultz

Palmer College of Chiropractic

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Davenport, Iowa, school was:
Benson: Taner Gimberlin

Bemidji State University

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher were:
Appleton: Clayton Beck
Benson: Chase Boettcher
Granite Falls: Meeghen Dahlager
Kandiyohi: Hailey Kallevig
Litchfield: Amanda Smith
Paynesville: Macy Elfering
Redwood Falls: Kaleb Serbus
Spicer: John Perkins
Willmar: Caleb Laurence, Aaron Lisle, Mirima Sorenson

Lake Forest College

Recently inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa Society, the National Leadership Honor Society, at the Lake Forest, Illinois, school was:
Willmar: Hannah Kobienia

Donna Middleton started working at the West Central Tribune in 1975 and has been the news assistant since 1992. She compiles the arts, health, farm and community page calendars, as well as rewrites and works on the special sections.
She can be contacted at or phone 320-214-4341.
What To Read Next
A $200,000 federal grant to the city of Willmar will be used to complete a citywide Safety Action Plan to address safety, accessibility and equity concerns throughout the city’s transportation system.
With the help of state and federal funds, homes and businesses in Lake Elizabeth, East Lake Lillian and Harrison townships in Kandiyohi County could have broadband connections within two years.
News about educational achievements among students from west central Minnesota.
Area funerals scheduled through Feb. 13, 2023