Schools & Students published Aug. 11, 2020

Stock image of math symbols, drawings on a chalkboard

Northwest Technical College

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Bemidji school were:

Granite Falls: Amanda Hall

Grove City: Ashley Nelson

Bemidji State University

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher were:

Appleton: Clayton Beck, Kassidy Platow


Atwater: Hannah Sauter-Slinden

Glenwood: Natasha Nemmers

Granite Falls: Meeghen Dahlager

Litchfield: Seth Renner, Amanda Smith

New London: Erich Feist

Redwood Falls: Lindsey Raker, Brandy Ringeisen, Dylan Wright

Sacred Heart: Cassandra DeKruif

Spicer: John Perkins


Willmar: Hannah Arnold, Amber Sorenson, Michelle Thissen

UM-Twin Cities

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.66 or higher at the University of Minnesota school in the Twin Cities were:

Appleton: Maggie Raddatz

Belgrade: Joseph Thompson

Belview: Lydia Rigge

Benson: Joshua Bailey, Eric Hoium, Sydney Laumeyer

Clarkfield: Jakob Christopherson, Sophia Louwagie

Darwin: Izabella Maher, Makayla Maher


Glenwood: Taylor Amundson, Jake Hoffman, Peyton Kolstoe, Hanna Lindblad, Hannah Orlowski

Hancock: Zachary Copa, Emma Nelson

Hawick: Ashley Schmitz

Kandiyohi: Kyle Knofczynski

Kerkhoven: Lewis Mansfield, Averie Vick, Jade Vick

Litchfield: Grace Tepfer

Montevideo: Hayden Huber, Ashley McKee

New London: Nathan Klaers, Samuel Stageberg, Rachel Vraa

Olivia: Miranda Johnson, Amanda Tersteeg

Raymond: Wendy Bauman, Drue Schwitters

Redwood Falls: Sydney Peyerl, Spencer Quast

Renville: Maya Ulrich

Sacred Heart: Sarah Hoff

Spicer: Maddie Gabrielson, Lydia Morrell, Thomas Stageberg, Elaina Stommes

Starbuck: Kyle Meyer

Willmar: Theodore Ahrenholz, Erica Ellingson, Kylie Halvorson, Anne Johnston, Jacob Kotzenmacher, Alan Mangen, Megan Peterson, Madison Radermacher, Heidi Schmitz, Erica Schramm, Andrew Schultz, Ellie Shuldes

Winona State University

The GPA for the honors designations are cum laude 3.60-3.74 and magna cum laude 3.75-3.89. Graduating at the end of spring semester with a bachelor's degree from the Winona school were:

Kandiyohi: Mariah Kallevig, magna cum laude

Spicer: Mya Rohman, cum laude

UW-Eau Claire

Graduating at the end of spring semester from the University of Wisconsin school in Eau Claire was:

Hancock: Jaclyn Swinney, master’s in communication sciences and disorders

Bethel University

Graduating at the end of spring semester with a bachelor's degree from the St. Paul school were:

Benson: Gracie Grussing, Kristin Murphy

Maynard: Justine Jaenisch

Olivia: Isaiah Gardeen

Spicer: Anna Goetzman

St. Cloud State University

The GPA for the honors designations are cum laude 3.25-3.49, magna cum laude 3.50-3.74 and summa cum laude 3.75-4.0. Graduating at the end of spring semester with a bachelor's degree unless otherwise noted were:

Belgrade: Karlee Kern, summa cum laude

Benson: Alexis Erhardt, cum laude

Bird Island: Kaitlyn Gerrety

Blomkest: Kourtney Hammerschmidt, cum laude

Clara City: Amber Wieberdink, summa cum laude

Glenwood: Collin Stumpf, summa cum laude

Granite Falls: Erica Moritz, master’s of social work

Hawick: Jackie Keller, magna cum laude; Maggie Powers, summa cum laude

Kerkhoven: Courtney Walsh, master’s in information media

Litchfield: Autumn Mickelson, graduate certificate

New London: Zachariah Plumley, magna cum laude; Emily Schimerowski, cum laude

Olivia: Stella Sandager, master’s in teaching English as a second language

Paynesville: Dodi Greeley, master’s in criminal justice studies; Halle Johnson; Noah Martens, magna cum laude; McKayla Quade, summa cum laude; Sadie Rolfhus, summa cum laude

Pennock: Steven Koestner

Raymond: Deven Benson, summa cum laude

Spicer: Kelvin Johnson, summa cum laude; Allison Sharp, summa cum laude; Danielle Smith, cum laude

Watson: Amy Marohl, master’s in communication sciences and disorders

Willmar: Jill Benson, graduate certificate; Ahmedfowzi Ismail, magna cum laude; Alfred Kibwota, master’s of public administration; Madison Lalim; Thomas Laska; Carin Loseth, master’s in teaching English as a second language; Emily Thein, master’s in school counseling

Southwest Minnesota State University

Graduating at the end of spring semester from the Marshall school with a bachelor's degree, unless otherwise noted, were:

Appleton: Austin Kristopher Domeier

Atwater: Natasha Mae Fester

Belgrade: Kirsten Irene Gruber, master’s in education

Benson: Taner Leon Gimberlin

Bird Island: Savanna Rose Ziller

Brooten: Benjamin James Thompson

Danube: Brady Ray Holwerda; Emily Jo Bratsch; Jessica Lynn Schneider, master’s in education

Danvers: Emily Jo Boerboom, master’s in special education

Dawson: Zachary Ryan Stratmoen

Granite Falls: Blake Joseph Helgeson; Leslie Brooke Knutson, maser’s in special education

Hanley Falls: Dylan Cory Lindstrom

Kandiyohi: Rachel Ann Moorhouse, master’s in education

Montevideo: Hever Ariel Valenzuela Mejia, Jason Lee Kleindl

New London: Jaime Charlene Lindahl, master’s in education; Jessica Faith Jacobsen

Olivia: Cassidy Mae Hansen

Paynesville: Ashley Jane Eisenbraun

Pennock: Amanda Lee Deuth, master’s in education

Raymond: Olivia Ann Goeman

Redwood Falls: Angela Marie Prokosch, master’s of business administration; Breanna Jean Tuley; John James Lothert

Sacred Heart: Nicole Dale Musselman

Spicer: Eric Mathew Terres, master’s in education; Shaylyn Jo Purcell; Valor Lynn Gorans, master’s in education

Willmar: Chelsey Nichole O'Malley, master’s in education; David John Runia, master’s in education; Jessica Sherilyn Quam, master’s in education; Jonathan Mikal Raatz; Levi Joseph Meath; Marla Jean Townswick Schroeder, master’s in education; Peyton Rae Setrum; Rosemary Jean Molenaar, master’s in education; Selina Renee McCool-Kamstra; Taylor Leigh Collins, master’s in education

Donna Middleton started working at the West Central Tribune in 1975 and has been the news assistant since 1992. She compiles the arts, health, farm and community page calendars, as well as rewrites and works on the special sections.
She can be contacted at or phone 320-214-4341.
What To Read Next
A 67-year-old man was pronounced deceased at the scene of a snowmobile crash after first responders attempted life-saving measures, according to a news release from the Kandiyohi County Sheriff's Office.
KLQP this week marked 40 years as an independent radio station. The Madison, Minnesota, station is unabashedly local, featuring high school sports, talk shows with local guests and community news.
Khristian Apollo Kezena, 28, was sentenced to nearly three years in prison for first-degree impaired driving in Yellow Medicine County. This conviction marks his fourth within 10 years.
The Youth in Harmony festival, held by the West Central Connections Chorus, will take place Saturday and include a public concert.