Schools & Students published Aug. 18, 2020

Stock image of math symbols, drawings on a chalkboard


Elizabeth Jeppesen, of Sunburg, is on of 25 students who received the Wood Medallion, given annually to seniors who have been active in student activities and exhibited an outstanding degree of leadership while at the Menomonie, Wisconsin, school. Chosen by a committee representing students, faculty and staff, the medallion is the highest nonacademic award for students.

Hastings College

Alli Kennon, of Spicer, was recognized for a Performance of Distinction in Prose Interpretation and Communication Analysis by The National Forensics Association. The association's Performances of Distinction archive project was created after national forensics tournaments were canceled due to COVID-19. Senior and first-year students could submit their events for a chance to be honored in an archive, where the events receiving distinction would be placed for viewing by a wider audience.


Named to receive a scholarship at the Minnesota State University school in Moorhead for the 2020-21 academic year are:

Atwater: Hattie Kragenbring

Willmar: Erin Rekedal


Concordia College

Named to receive a scholarship at the Moorhead school for the 2020-21 academic year are:

Benson: Mariah Ahrndt

Brooten: Brooke Deters, Jesus Iracheta

Glenwood: Adriana Vigil, Carly Wiirre

Litchfield: MaLaney Huhner, Bret Wendlandt

Madison: Rachel Bringle, Anna Hacker, Annika Trygestad

Montevideo: Tegan Marty

Paynesville: Hailey Puppe


Spicer: Eli Hulstein

Villard: Greta Reichmann

Willmar: Chloe Hansen, Jacob Meyer, Didiana Rosales

Minnesota Turkey Growers

Named to receive a Minnesota Turkey Growers Association Ranelius scholarship for the 2020-21 school year were:

Lake Lillian: Kaylee Vlaminck

Spicer: Abby Stauffenecker

Willmar: Padilla Oseguera

Catholic United Financial

Named to receive a Catholic United Financial scholarship was:


Willmar: Katelyn Cook


Southern Minnesota Beet Sugar Cooperative awards scholarships each year to students who are an immediate family member of a shareholder or an employee. Receiving the scholarships were:

Buffalo Lake: Malli Ryberg

Clara City: Abigail Pieper

Montevideo: William Bosch

Renville: Lauren Wulf, Zachary Rice

Willmar: Julia Thaden

Minnesota West

Named to receive scholarships for fall semester 2020 at Minnesota West Community & Technical College with campuses in Canby, Granite Falls, Jackson, Pipestone, Worthington, Luverne and Marshall are:

Belview: Shayna Gouse

Granite Falls: Douglas Bendel, Lauren McCosh, Skyler Corner

Hanley Falls: Christinea Dahl, Dakota Haugen

Kandiyohi: Brian Peterson

Madison: Daniel Lies

Maynard: Christal Stavne

Montevideo: Ivy Williams, Laura Banken. Ruth Garbe, Tania Turcios

Paynesville: Tami Zwiefel

Redwood Falls: Holden Runck, Lance Wagner, Matt Lindbo

Renville: Carina Zaske

Sacred Heart: Crystal Schjenken

Starbuck: Susannah Wamstad

American Legion

Coltin Pflipsen, of Willmar, received the American Legion District 7’s Eagle Scout of the Year college scholarship. He is a member of New London Troop 228.

Augustana University

Named to receive a scholarship at the Sioux Falls, South Dakota, school for the 2020-21 academic year are:

Belgrade: Kacie Voss

Madison: Laura Baldwin, Rachel Halvorson

Sacred Heart: Erika Hoff

Related Topics: EDUCATION
Donna Middleton started working at the West Central Tribune in 1975 and has been the news assistant since 1992. She compiles the arts, health, farm and community page calendars, as well as rewrites and works on the special sections.
She can be contacted at or phone 320-214-4341.
What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.
Mike Clemens, a farmer from Wimbledon, North Dakota, was literally (and figuratively) “blown away,” when his equipment shed collapsed under a snow load.
Volunteers lead lessons on infusing fibers with plant dyes and journaling scientific observations for youth in Crow Wing and Olmsted counties.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.