Schools & Students published July 20, 2021

News about educational achievements among students from west central Minnesota.

Stock image of math symbols, drawings on a chalkboard

Mount Marty University

Graduating at the end of spring semester with a bachelor's degree from the Yankton, South Dakota, school was:

Madison: Kylie Jahn

UW-River Falls

Graduating at the end of spring semester with a bachelor's degree from the University of Wisconsin school in River Falls were:

Atwater: Skyller Schmidt

Grove City: Margaret Meyer


Sunburg: Molly Jeppesen

North Dakota State University

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Fargo school were:

Appleton: Anna G. Mahoney

Atwater: Noelle Dilley

Belgrade: Dacia Herickhoff, Trevor J. Hubert, Katherine Mastey, Marit Walsh, Nicole A. Wesbur

Bellingham: Gretchen R. Rademacher

Benson: Max S. Benson, Will Enderson, Andrea A. Rud, Katelyn E. Tolifson, Hannah E. Young

Blomkest: Jakob M. Zuidema


Brooten: Morgan C. Meyer, Victoria A. Reed

Clara City: Parker Ruiter

Clontarf: Kevin J. Johnson

Danvers: Hannah Andrews

Dawson: Connor M. Kontz, Braden A. Thompson

Glenwood: Ryan C. Christianson, Jessica L. Lanoue, Evan G. Palmer

Hancock: Zachariah Flaten, Peyton A. Rohloff

Hawick: Sierra M. Hoekstra


Hector: Anna M. Buboltz

Kerkhoven: Caleb T. Collins, Kori C. Forsell, Morgan E. Lesteberg

Lake Lillian: Alex Widmer

Litchfield: Karen Derdoski, Nora A. Lagergren, Simon E. Mueller, Dominick L. Wendler

Madison: Dain S. Haas

Montevideo: Chase D. Collins, Emmalee J. Enevoldsen, Kurt D. TeBeest

Morris: Shiori L. Legate, Carissa L. Mohrman, Carissa Oberg, Hannah Zimmel

New London: Justin A. Chvala, Riley Krossman, Payton Mages, Carly L. Orwick, Mckenzie Thieschafer

Olivia: Josie M. Lilja, McKenna E. Lilja, Peyton E. Riley, Ethan A. Whited

Paynesville: Grace K. Lange, Nathaniel J. Peterson, Emily A. Porter, Kaitlyn M. Root, Shawn Rue, Caden Spanier, Sophia C. Strand, Andrew F. Zwiefel

Pennock: Cade A. Melin

Redwood Falls: Zach A. Josephson

Spicer: Sophia Austvold, Jacob L. Klavetter, Abby N. Stauffenecker, Jenna J. Stauffenecker

Starbuck: Quinn Hanson

Sunburg: Riley E. Hart, Claire S. Hauge

Villard: Shawn S. Carsten

Willmar: Emma C. Culshaw, Sawyer Delp, Amber Evink, Victoria E. Halvorson, Kristin J. Hormann, Alec M. Nibaur, McCoy W. VanKlompenburg, Ethan Weber

Wood Lake: Sidney J. Geistfeld

Upper Iowa University

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Fayette, Iowa, school was:

Willmar: Brady Krupa

Carthage College

Named to the spring semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.5 or higher at the Kenosha, Wisconsin, school were:

Willmar: Garrett Shuldes

UW-Eau Claire

Named to the fall semester dean’s list with a GPA of 3.6 or higher at the University of Wisconsin school in Eau Claire were:

Bird Island: Dana Athmann

Starbuck: Hannah Hoffmann

Willmar: Maeve Celedon, Abigail Volk

Donna Middleton started working at the West Central Tribune in 1975 and has been the news assistant since 1992. She compiles the arts, health, farm and community page calendars, as well as rewrites and works on the special sections.
She can be contacted at or phone 320-214-4341.
What To Read Next
In split 5-2 votes, Willmar City Council approved accepting a grant to construct an outdoor fitness court and applying for an Age-Friendly Minnesota Community grant.
The administration is bringing back an Obama-era decision, later reversed by Trump, that bans new mineral leases on 225,500 acres of the Superior National Forest for the next two decades.
A 15-year-old male suffered what are believed to be non-life threatening injuries after a crash reported Wednesday night to the Minnesota State Patrol. The driver, a 19-year-old male, was not injured.
Sticker shock over the estimated cost to replace the 1967 office of the Yellow Medicine County Highway Department — construction costs are estimated at $295 per square foot — have led the County Board to move cautiously.