WILLMAR – The Minnesota Department of Transportation has enacted a no travel advisory on state and federal highways in portions of west central Minnesota because of dangerous driving conditions.

The no travel advisory applies to portions of Swift County -- including the cities of Benson, Murdock, Starbuck and the edge of Sunburg -- and all of Big Stone, Pope, Stevens, Clay, Traverse and Wilkin counties.

Blowing snow is causing whiteout conditions in these areas. Snowplows will continue to operate, but motorists are advised not to travel in these counties until conditions improve.

Elsewhere in west central Minnesota, including Kandiyohi County, roads are covered with a mix of snow, ice and slush and blowing snow is reducing visibility.