Wrestling: ACGC stymies Benson to stay unbeaten

BENSON -- Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City junior Ben Meyer won his 100th career match and the Falcons came within seconds of posting a shutout as ACGC upended Benson 66-3 Thursday in the West Central South Conference.

BENSON -- Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City junior Ben Meyer won his 100th career match and the Falcons came within seconds of posting a shutout as ACGC upended Benson 66-3 Thursday in the West Central South Conference.

Benson (1-1, 3-4) got its only points at the 130-pound match when Brad Plumhoff earned a reversal at the third-period buzzer against Bill Wheeler. Both were unbeaten entering the dual.

The unbeaten Falcons (3-0, 7-0), who are ranked third in the last Class A poll from The Guillotine, got pins from Michael Kramer at 112, Meyer at 119, Matt Pearson at 135, Travis Frederiksen at 145, Erick Larson at 152, Micah Larson at 171 and heavyweight Josh Lies.

ACGC 66, Benson 3

103: Jeremy Anderson, ACGC, won by forfeit


112: Michael Kramer, ACGC, pin Matt Plumhoff 2:33

119: Ben Meyer, ACGC, pin Brett Hoffman 5:39

125: Scott Litzau, ACGC, dec Ryan Thompson 6-4

130: Brad Plumhoff, Ben, dec Bill Wheeler 5-4

135: Matt Pearson, ACGC, pin Brady Wersinger 3:47

140: Travis Whitcomb, ACGC, dec Miles Staton 4-3

145: Travis Frederiksen, ACGC, pin Turner Carson 2:17

152: Erick Larson, ACGC, pin James Huston 4:29


160: A.J. Frederiksen, ACGC, maj Ryan Unke 13-2

171: Micah Larson, ACGC, pin Tim Lundebrek :54

189: Nic Leither, ACGC, won by forfeit

215: David Nelson, ACGC, dec Chris Carruth 11-4

275: Josh Lies, ACGC, pin Dalton Staton 3:23


YME 61, Redwood Valley 9

Yellow Medicine East improved to 4-1 on the season, getting pins from Logan Johnson at 103 pounds, Jordan Hegna at 119, Wyatt Sand at 135 and David Eckhart at 145. The Sting also received four forfeits.


Ross Mariner at 125, Brady Myers at 160 and Brian Anderson at 189 all earned decisions for the Cardinals.

103: Logan Johnson, YME, pin Ethan Bernhardson 1:40

112: Austen Cole, YME, won by forfeit

119: Jordan Hegna, YME, pin Brandon Swoboda 4:22

125: Ross Mariner, RV, dec Stephen Johnke 8-4

130: Casey Field, YME, won by forfeit

135: Wyatt Sand, YME, pin Travis Gewerth 1:48

140: Landen Cole, YME, pin Taylor Klause 5:27


145: David Eckhart, YME, pin Brady Stough 2:32

152: Eric Dubbelde, YME, dec Jared Schiller 9-3

160: Brady Myers, RV, dec Phil Johnson 10-4

171: Martin Hagen, YME, maj Brennen Hagert 13-2

189: Brian Anderson, RV, dec Evan Stock 3-0

215: Sam Isfeld, YME, won by forfeit

275: Justin Allen, YME, won by forfeit

Wright County


Litchfield 46, Mound-Westonka 21

Litchfield got some breathing room with three straights from Tanner Sittig at 145 pounds, David Malepsy at 152 and Jake Tews at 160. Sittig and Tews picked up pins and Malepsy won by major decision.

103: Justin Strairs, MW, dec Kyle Ballard 7-1

112: Mike Knisley, Lit, pin Ben Anderson-Smith :31

119: Nick Johnson, MW, dec Jerry DeBoer 7-6

125: John Binsfeld, Lit, dec Ryan Peters 9-3

130: Bobby Malepsy, Lit, dec Brandon Hebley 11-4

135: Brandon McVey, MW, pin Danny Cox 4:17


140: Luke Soatzer, MW, pin Alex Berglund 3:40

145: Tanner Sittig, Lit, pin Zach Schepper 2:46

152: David Malepsy, Lit, maj Pat State 10-2

160: Jake Tews, Lit, pin Rafael Paisomes 1:47

171: Jake Todd, MW, maj Jared Flemming 13-4

189: Peter Stein, MW, pin Dustin Celander 5:00

215: Sam Pautzke, Lit, pin Paul Stein :25

275: Jeremy Forster, Lit, pin Joey McFee 1:46

Montevideo Tri

LQPV 34, Montevideo 30

Jason Mackenzie earned a pin in 3:44 at heavyweight to give Lac qui Parle Valley its first conference win.

103: Devin Evoldson, L, maj Dylan Croatt 10-0

112: Sam Haas, LQPV, maj Tim Macziewski 11-3

119: Darrin Reuss, Mon, dec. Colby Judovsky 7-6

125: Colton Kanstrup, LQPV, dec Josh Anderson 6-1

130: Isaac Sulflow, LQPV, dec Nathan Stottler 3-2

135: Zach Wendlandt, Mon, pin Nick Hanen 1:50

140: Sam Aalfs, Mon, dec Brock Kanstrup 5-2

145: Zac Zinda, LQPV, won by forfeit

152: Jack Massee, LQPV, pin Garrett Norby 5:36

160: Tony Klosterboer, Mon, tcfl Matt Brehmer 20-5

171: Tony Ludvigson, LQPV, pin Shane Ruether 2:21

189: Fritjof Engebretson, LQPV, dec Thomas Joyce 3-0

215: Jordan Welling, Mon, pin A.J. Marganelti 3:11

275: Jason Mackenzie, LQPV, pin Colton Anderson 3:44

Pipestone 42, LQPV 18

Colby Judovsky at 119 pounds picked up the only pin for the Eagles.

103: Josh Bush, Pip, pin Dylan Croatt 1:37

112: Jadan Evans, Pip, pin Tanner Avelsgard 1:20

119: Colby Judovsky, LQPV, pin Nate Marger 1:28

125: Colton Kanstrup, LQPV, dec Dustin Hackman 4-0

130: Taylor Asland, Pip, maj Nick Hanen 15-3

135: Dylan Kor, Pip, dec Nate Stottler 1-0

140: Adam Bullerman, Pip, maj Brock Kanstrup 8-0

145: Zac Zinda, LQPV, dec Taylor Evans 8-6

152: Chone Amdahl, Pip, dec Jack Massee 7-6

160: Matt Brehmer, LQPV, dec Jared Purdin 4-2

171: Tony Ludvigson, LQPV, dec Andrew Larson 7-6

189: Matt Dumm, Pip, maj Fritjof Engebretson 10-0

215: Travis Piehn, Pip, won by forfeit

275: Brandon Mueller, Pip, pin Jason Mackenzie 1:05

Pipestone 57, Montevideo 27

Darrin Reuss at 119 pounds, Zach Weckwerth at 135 and Tony Klosterboer at 152 all notched pins for the Thunder Hawks.

103: John Bush, Pip, pin Joe Bednar 5:15

112: Jadan Evans, Pip, pin Jesse Majerus 2:48

119: Darrin Reuss, Mon, pin Scott Gorter 1:15

125: Josh Anderson, Mon, dec Dustin Hackman 4-2

130: Taylor Asland, Pip, pin Isaac Sulflow 5:08

135: Zach Weckwerth, Mon, pin Dylan Kor 3:53

140: Adam Bullerman, Pip, pin Sam Aalfs 3:55

145: Taylor Evans, Pip, pin Garrett Norby :56

152: Tony Klosterboer, Mon, pin Chone Amdahl 3:32

160: Jared Purdin, Pip, pin Shane Ruether 1:22

171: Andrew Larson, Pip, pin Thomas Joyce :31

189: Jordan Welling, Mon, won def. over Matt Dumm

215: Travis Piehn, Pip, won by forfeit

275: Sean Enneth, Pip, won by forfeit

What To Read Next
Get Local