Wrestling: BOLD/BLH clips Waska

OLIVIA -- Behind a fast start, BOLD/Buffalo Lake-Hector clipped Minnewaska 34-23 in the West Central Conference playoff Tuesday. The Warriors, the West Central South champions, won six of the first seven matches to claim a 21-5 lead. Alex Steffl ...

OLIVIA -- Behind a fast start, BOLD/Buffalo Lake-Hector clipped Minnewaska 34-23 in the West Central Conference playoff Tuesday.

The Warriors, the West Central South champions, won six of the first seven matches to claim a 21-5 lead. Alex Steffl started the dual with a technical fall win at 103 pounds for BOLD/BLH and Ross Neubauer added a major decision at 125 pounds.

The Lakers, winners of the West Central North title, won the next three matches to cut the lead to 21-20. Trevor Larson won his 145-pound match by fall, as did Colin Cihlar at 152 pounds.

But the Warriors picked up a pin from Mark Pietig at 171 pounds and a major decision from Zach Kopel at 189 to solidify the victory.

BOLD/BLH 34, Minnewaska 23


103: Alex Steffel, B, tcfl Andy Goracke 20-5

112: Pat LeVasseur, B, dec Justin Frederick 3-2, 2 OT

119: Jon Tatro, M, tcfl Tom Brenner 24-9

125: Ross Neubauer, B, maj David Bond 14-1

130: Chris Harmon, B, dec Dan Braaten 6-3

135: Cole Neubauer, B, dec Collin Jergenson 9-5

140: Mark Revier, B, dec Sam Goracke 7-2

145: Trevor Larson, M, pin Nick Bauman 3:44


152: Colin Cihlar, M, pin Tony Kramer 3:22

160: Alan Erickson, M, dec Jon Kramer 5-1

171: Mark Pietig, B, pin Jared Jordahl 3:24

189: Zach Kopel, B, maj Jamie Linman 10-2

215: Alan Lutterman, M, dec Brian Hagen 10-5

275: Ben Aaseth, B, dec Shane Cowen 13-7

YME Triangular

YME 58, Ortonville 12


Yellow Medicine East got 36 points from six Ortonville forfeits. Jordan Stock at 171 pounds and Jordan Gaffaney at 215 notched the only falls for the Sting.

103: Austen Cole, YME, maj John Eustice 14-2

112: Tanner Aus, YME, won by fofeit

119: Matt Williams, YME, won by forfeit

125: Casey Field, YME, won by forfeit

130: Kurt Eastling, Ort, pin Wyatt Sand 5:48

135: Landen Cole, YME, won by forfeit

140: Nick Rolfing, Y, dec Jason Roggenbuck 7-2


145: Eric Dubbelde, Y, maj Cody Ringsaker 12-2

152: Tom Jacobson, YME, won by forfeit

160: Eric Croatt, Ort, dec Spenser Sannerud 5-2

171: Jordan Stock, YME, tcfl Drew Johnson 15-0

189: Evan Stock, YME, won by forfeit

215: Jordan Gaffaney, YME, pin Joe Nelson 4:53

275: Dustin Roggenbuck, Ort, dec Tim Palm 4-2

YME 36, Dawson-Boyd 21


After Dawson-Boyd pulled ahead 18-9 on Luke Bothun's pin at 135 pounds, Yellow Medicine East won the next five matches to take a 30-18 lead.

Matt Williams at 119 and Spenser Sannerud at 160 had falls for YME while Cameron Jurgenson at 130 also had a pin for Dawson-Boyd.

103: Justin Sather, DB, dec Austen Cole 7-3

112: Ryan Swenson, DB, dec Tanner Aus 5-1

119: Matt Williams, YME, pin Doug Sharar :25

125: Casey Field, YME, dec Jake Bothun 11-4

130: Cameron Jurgenson, D, pin Justin Tongen 3:31

135: Luke Bothun, DB, pin Landen Cole 5:18


140: Nick Rolfing, YME, dec Randy Strand 3-0

145: Eric Dubbelde, YME, dec Hank Ireland 3-1

152: Tom Jacobson, YME, won by forfeit

160: Spenser Sannerud, Y, tcfl Trevor Eshing 16-0

171: Jordan Stock, YME, maj Travis Estling 14-2

189: Brian Bothun, DB, dec Jordan Gaffaney 3-1

215: Evan Stock, YME, dec Clay Brown 8-5

275: Tim Palm, YME, dec Chris Schacherer 5-2

Dawson-Boyd 60, Ortonville 16

Dawson-Boyd got the help of seven forfeits from Ortonville. Ryan Swenson at 112 pounds and Hank Ireland at 145 had the only pins for Dawson-Boyd.

103: Justin Sather, DB, won by forfeit

112: Ryan Swenson, DB, pin John Eustice 1:05

119: Jake Bothun, DB, won by forfeit

125: Doug Sharar, DB, won by forfeit

130: Cameron Jurgenson, D, dec Kurt Eastling 5-3

135: Luke Bothun, DB, won by forfeit

140: Randy Strand, D, dec Jason Roggenbuck 5-4

145: Hank Ireland, DB, pin Cody Ringsaker 2:43

152: Alan Kurtenbach, DB, won by forfeit

160: Eric Croatt, Ort, pin Trevor Estling 4:49

171: Drew Johnson, Ort, maj Travis Estling 17-6

189: Brian Bothun, DB, won by forfeit

215: Dusten Roggenbuck, O, pin Clay Brown 1:18

275: Chris Schacherer, DB, won by forfeit

MACCRAY Triangular

Marshall 41, MACCRAY 31

MACCRAY got pins from Joe DeGrote at 130 pounds and Ryan Peterson at 275. The Wolverines also got decisions from Levi Berends at 103 and Thomas Miller at 145.

103: Levi Berends, MAC, maj J.C. Westberg 15-6

112: Nathaniel Zeinstra, Mar, won by forfeit

119: Jason Jeremiason, Mar, pin Matt Friese 1:19

125: Antony Coequyt, Mar, won by forfeit

130: Joe DeGrote, MAC, pin Matt Westberg 1:35

135: Brett Crecelius, Mar, dec Mark DeGrote 8-3

140: Tyler Steen, MAC, won by forfeit

145: Thomas Miller, MAC, dec Ethan Lundberg 13-6

152: Adam Oakland, Mar, pin Mitch Rosendahl 1:02

160: Thomas Uttermark, MAC, won by forfeit

171: Dan Marron, Mar, pin Josh Schmaedeka 1:12

189: Caleb Bruns, Mar, dec Mitch Grussing 4-1

215: Blake Nath, Mar, pin Abel Mendoza 2:58

275: Ryan Peterson, MAC, pin Kyle Martin :57

River Valley 48, MACCRAY 15

Three decisions -- Tyler Steen at 140 pounds, Thomas Miller at 145 and Mitch Grussing at 189 -- and a pin from Joe DeGrote at 130 accumulated the points for MACCRAY.

103: Trent Vaske, RV, won by forfeit

112: Mark Amsden, RV, won by forfeit

119: Mitch Johnson, RV, maj Matt Friese 13-2

125: Derek Skovbroten, RV, won by forfeit

130: Joe DeGrote, MAC, pin Bill Krueger 1:22

135: Josh Clevenger, RV, dec Mark DeGrote 4-3

140: Tyler Steen, MAC, dec Jason Lang 7-2

145: Thomas Miller, MAC, dec Andy Plotz 7-3

152: Andy Krueger, RV, tcfl Mitch Rosendahl 24-9

160: Chris Mortiz, RV, dec Thomas Uttermark 10-4

171: Matt Baier, RV, pin Josh Schmaedeka :32

189: Mitch Grussing, MAC, dec Ryan Nelson 19-12

215: Gabe Salonek, RV, dec Abel Mendoza 8-4

275: Chris Wersal, RV, pin Ryan Peterson 2:42


KMS 54, Benson 10

Freshman Kevin Steinhaus of KMS won his 100th match Tuesday, with a 16-second pin at 130 pounds. Steinhaus is now 100-10 in his career.

Starting with Steinhaus' victory, the Fighting Saints won the rest of the matches -- 10 straight -- including five by fall.

103: Jacob Engler, K, pin Jesse Lundebrek 1:38

112: Brett Hoffman, Ben, maj Aaron Zimmer 11-2

119: Spencer Almen, K, dec Ryan Thompson 7-4

125: Preston Flolo, Ben, pin Aaron Doraska 1:11

130: Kevin Steinhaus, K, pin Brad Plumhoff :16

135: Matt Stassen, KMS, dec Miles Staton 9-7

140: Mitch Hagen, KMS, pin James Huston 1:48

145: Nick Dahl, KMS, dec Ryan Unke 7-6

152: Alex Baker, KMS, dec Brandon Berens 4-1

160: Joel Bauman, K, dec Kevin Wersinger 14-12

171: Chris Braaten, K, pin Tim Lundebrek 4:41

189: Jeremy Peterson, K, dec Chris Carruth 4-3

215: Brad Kneisl, KMS, pin Jon Pierce :44

275: Cody Kinney, KMS, pin Dalton Staton :40

NL-Spicer 49, RCW 15

New London-Spicer, which won seven of the first eight matches, got pins from Billy Dean at 125 pounds, Christopher DeLong at 135, Adam Luberts at 145, Andrew Blomker at 189, Paul Peterson at 215 and Stephen Westby at 275.

Trent Novotny at 119 had the only pin for Renville County West.

103: Shawn Hatlestad, NLS, maj Tyler Fagen 13-1

112: Chad Henle, NLS, dec Dakota Freiborg 12-6

119: Trent Novotny, RCW, pin Matt Melby 2:47

125: Billy Dean, NLS, pin Cody McLagan 1:28

130: Brandon Keller, NLS, dec Zach Freiborg 7-4

135: Christopher DeLong, N, pin Jordan Schwantes 5:27

140: John Nething, NLS, dec Eric Mertens 4-0

145: Adam Luberts, NLS, pin Cole Gigstad 1:10

152: Jake Freiborg, RCW, dec Tony Tobkin 7-6

160: Joe Dambroten, RCW, dec Levi Schultz 4-0

171: Bob Huseby, RCW, dec Collin Ruter 11-5

189: Andrew Blomker, NLS, pin Will Lerud :49

215: Paul Peterson, N, pin Aaron Adamski 2:40

275: Stephen Westby, NLS, pin D.J. Weilage :44

What To Read Next
Get Local


Local Sports and News