Wrestling: Canby, Minneota, YME, KMS heading to 4A semis

All four of the top seeds in Section 4A advanced to Saturday's semifinals at Dawson. Top-seeded Canby thumped Lac qui Parle Valley 59-9 in a quarterfinal match. The Lancers will face No. 4 Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, a 52-27 winner over Dawson-Boy...

All four of the top seeds in Section 4A advanced to Saturday's semifinals at Dawson.

Top-seeded Canby thumped Lac qui Parle Valley 59-9 in a quarterfinal match. The Lancers will face No. 4 Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, a 52-27 winner over Dawson-Boyd, in one semifinal at 1 p.m.

No. 2 Minneota, which defeated Renville County West 40-22, will next meet No. 3 Yellow Medicine East, a 56-12 winner over Benson, in the other semifinal at 1 p.m. The championship will follow.

First round



(At Canby) -- LQPV got pins from Dylan Croatt at 103 pounds, Lane Mitchell at 119 and Colton Kanstrup at 125. The Eagles also received three forfeits to help their cause.

MACCRAY got pins from Matt Friese at 130 and Dean Wandersee at heavyweight.

103: Dylan Croatt, L, pin Colton Berends 1:39

112: Sam Haas, L, dec Levi Berends 3-2

119: Lane Mitchell, L, pin Taylor Bodin 3:34

125: Colton Kanstrup, L, pin Ben Bonnema 2:36

130: Matt Friese, M, pin Aaron Thoreson 5:19

135: Brock Kanstrup, L, won by forfeit


140: Joe DeGrote, M, dec Zac Zinda 5-0

145: Jack Massee, L, won by forfeit

152: Tyler Steen, M, won by forfeit

160: Matt Brehmer, L, dec Mitch Rosendahl 5-3

171: Tony Ludvigson, L, dec Tom Uttermark 13-9

189: Nick Kellen, M, won by forfeit

215: Mitch Grussing, M, won by forfeit

285: Dean Wandersee, M, pin Jason MacKenzie 1:52


RCW 51, Ortonville 27

(At Minneota) -- No details were available at press time.


Canby 59, LQPV 9

(At Canby) -- The Lancers won 12 of the 14 matches, including three by pins, one by technical fall and four by forfeit.

Lane Mitchell got another pin at 119 for LQPV.

103: Jake Long, C, pin Dylan Croatt 1:17

112: Sam Haas, L, dec Ted Berckes 6-1


119: Lane Mitchell, L, pin Brett Citrowske 5:17

125: Dan Deslauriers, C, dec Colton Kanstrup 8-6

130: Jake Jelen, C, dec Aaron Thoreson 5-0

135: Tyler Baer, C, dec Brock Kanstrup 1-0

140: Alex Kontz, C, pin Zac Zinda 1:04

145: Jon Verhelst, C, tcfl Jack Massee 18-1

152: Tad Merritt, C, won by forfeit

160: Colby Citrowske, C, pin Fritjof Engebretson :17


171: Locan Oellien, C, won by forfeit

189: Garrett Beiningen, C, dec Tony Ludvigson 4-2

215: Travis Hansen, C, won by forfeit

285: Brad Wollum, C, won by forfeit

KMS 52, Dawson-Boyd 27

(At Kerkhoven) -- Down 27-12 after the 140-pound match, the favored Fighting Saints won the last seven matches starting with a Kevin Steinhaus first-period pin. Two wins by forfeit and pins from Alex Baker, Brad Kneisl and Cody Kinney, plus a major decision by Chris Braaten added to the runaway.

Dawson-Boyd got big points early on pins by Ryan Swenson, Jake Bothun and Cameron Juregenson. Austin Oswald won a 4-2 decision and Randy Strand won by fall for the 15-point Blackjacks' lead.

103: Kurt Timmons, KMS, pin Mike Bothun :42


112: Klinton VanHeuveln, KMS, won by forfeit

119: Ryan Swenson, DB, pin Casey Kreiger 1:12

125: Jake Bothun, DB, pin Aaron Doraska 5:12

130: Cameron Jurgenson, D, pin Blake Hagen :52

135: Austin Oswald, DB, dec Trevor Mahlum 4-2

140: Randy Strand, DB, pin Aaron Zimmer 1:21

145: Kevin Steinhaus, KMS, pin Hank Ireland 1:27

152: Mitch Hagen, KMS, won by forfeit

160: Alex Baker, KMS, pin Josh Staab 3:46

171: Joel Bauman, KMS, won by forfeit

189: Chris Braaten, KMS, maj Joe Hutt 11-3

215: Brad Kneisl, KMS, pin Christian Olson :30

285: Cody Kinney, KMS, pin Ben Gustafson 1:36

YME 56, Benson 12

(At Granite Falls) -- The Sting bolted to a 16-0 lead and never looked back in advancing to the semifinals. Logan Johnson at 103 pounds, Austen Cole at 112, Landen Cole at 135, Wayatt Sand at 140, Eric Dubbelde at 145, Phil Johnson at 160 and Sam Isfeld at 215 all notched falls for YME.

Dalton Staton had a pin at heavyweight for Benson.

103: Logan Johnson, Y, pin Matt Plumhoff 2:19

112: Austen Cole, Y, pin Jesse Lundebrek 1:28

119: Jordan Hegna, YME, maj Josh Frentzel 10-2

125: Ryan Thompson, Ben, dec Casey Field 3-1

130: Tanner Aus, YME, dec Brad Plumhoff 5-3

135: Landen Cole, YME, pin Brett Hoffman 5:42

140: Wyatt Sand, YME, tcfl Miles Staton 16-0

145: Eric Dubbelde, YME, tcfl James Huston 16-1

152: Turner Carson, Ben, dec Michael Kasak 6-4

160: Phil Johnson, YME, pin Ryan Unke 4:28

171: Martin Hagen, YME, won by forfeit

189: Evan Stock, YME, dec Chris Carruth 5-4

215: Sam Isfeld, YME, pin Justin Golden :45

285: Dalton Staton, Ben, pin Justin Allen 2:35

Minneota 40, RCW 22

Minneota won five of the last seven matches to advance to the semifinals.

RCW got a pin from Drew Hultquist at 160 pounds and Colton Hanson at heavyweight.

103: Christian Skillings, M, pin Derek Helmer 1:50

112: Beau Buysse, M, pin Brandon Agre :29

119: Dakota Freiborg, R, dec Jordan Bottelberghe 11-5

125: Sam Derynck, M, tcfl Trent Novotny 19-4

130: Zach Freiborg, R, maj Adam Longtin 12-2

135: Tanner Skillings, M, maj Isaac Johns 15-5

140: Eric Mertens, R, dec Thomas Bueltel 11-7

145: Cory Buysse, M, pin Brian Feldman :36

152: Michael Hammer, M, maj Collin Rehbein 12-4

160: Drew Hultquist, R, pin Adam Illies 2:16

171: Matt Buysse, M, dec Joe Dambroten 5-2

189: Craig Peterson, M, dec Jake Freiborg 11-4

215: Jared Longtin, M, dec Will Lerud 5-0

285: Colton Hanson, R, pin Stefan Anthamatten 4:31

What To Read Next
Get Local