Wrestling: Minnewaska clubs Melrose to win WC North dual title

MELROSE -- The Minnewaska Lakers received the West Central North dual-meet title gift wrapped compliments of the Melrose Dutchmen on Tuesday. The Lakers received eight forfeits and won five of six contested matches to post a 74-4 rout. David Bond...

MELROSE -- The Minnewaska Lakers received the West Central North dual-meet title gift wrapped compliments of the Melrose Dutchmen on Tuesday.

The Lakers received eight forfeits and won five of six contested matches to post a 74-4 rout.

David Bond at 125 pounds, Colin Cihlar at 152, Alan Erickson at 160, Jarod Jordahl at 171 and Jamie Linman at 189 picked up the contested bouts. Cihlar, Erickson and Linman had pins.

Minnewaska 74, Melrose 4

103: Andy Goracke, Min, won by forfeit


112: Justin Fredrick, Min, won by forfeit

119: Jon Tatro, Min, won by forfeit

125: David Bond, Min, maj Ryan Barthel 14-3

130: Danny Braaten, Min, won by forfeit

135: Collin Jergenson, Min, won by forfeit

140: Nathan Klaphake, Mel, maj Brandon Manderschied 16-2

145: Trvor Larson, Min, won by forfeit

152: Colin Cihlar, Min, pin B. Tschida :46


160: Alan Erickson, Min, pin Nick Trisko 1:47

171: Jarod Jordahl, Min, maj Tyler Petermeier 10-2

189: Jamie Linman, Min, pin Tom Hoaldvogt 4:57

215: Alan Lutterman, Min, won by forfeit

275: Shane Cowen, Min, won by forfeit

NL-Spicer 39, Albany 19

The New London-Spicer Wildcats scored a convincing win at New London by claiming eight matches, including a forfeit. Andrew Blomker took a 9-8 decision at 189 while Chad Henle, John Nething, Tony Tobkin and Stephen Westby all got falls.

103: Chad Henle, NLS, pin Nathan Jopp 2:11


112: Matt Dowell, Alb, dec Shawn Hatlestad 8-1

119: John Bredeck, Alb, maj Luke Reiter 9-1

125: Billy Dean, NLS, dec Jacob Sand 8-4

130: Brad Maciejewski, A, dec Brandon Keller 4-2

135: Sergei Krougov, Alb, dec Chris DeLong 14-9

140: John Nething, NLS, pin Chad Mergen 2:38

145: Adam Luberts, NLS, won by forfeit

152: Tony Tobkin, NLS, pin Adam Doll 3:48


160: Kurt Schlangen, Alb, Levi Schultz 4-0

171: Collin Ruter, NLS, dec Kyle Litchy 4-0

189: Andrew Blomker, N, dec Wade Persson 9-8

215: Keith Maciejewski, A, dec Paul Peterson 3-1

275: Stephen Westby, N, pin Jacob Thielman 3:31

West Central South

ACGC 65, Morris/Hancock 9

Jake Nohl notched his 100th career with a pin -- the 66th of his career -- at 145 for Morris/Hancock, but Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City took control early by winning the first seven matches. Max Koehntop picked up the Tigers' other points with a 3-1 overtime decision at 160.


Jeremy Anderson at 103, Bill Wheeler at 119, John Hoeper at 125, Micah Larson at 152 and Matt Leither at 189 all earned falls for the Falcons, who also got 30 points on five Morris/Hancock forfeits.

103: Jeremy Anderson, A, tcfl Josh Nelson 16-0

112: Ben Meyer, A, won by forfeit

119: Bill Wheeler, A, tcfl Tanner Berning 15-0

125: John Hoeper, A, pin Eric Goette 4:58

130: Matt Pearson, A, maj Kyle Feuchtenberger 13-0

135: Eric Larson, A, dec Travis Thooft 9-5

140: Travis Frederiksen, A, won by forfeit


145: Jake Nohl, M, pin Travis Whitcomb 2:21

152: Micah Larson, A, pin Mitchell Hughes 3:37

160: Max Koehntop, M, dec Eric Peterson 3-1OT

171: Nic Leither, A, won by forfeit

189: Matt Leither, A, pin Travis Moser 1:54

215: Jared Peterson, A, won by forfeit

275: Josh Lies, A, won by forfeit

Benson 47, LQPV 27

Benson won the final five matches to rally from 27-11 deficit. The Braves got falls from Brett Hoffman at 112 pounds, Brad Plumhoff at 130, Tim Lundebrek at 171, Chris Carruth at 189 and Trenton Lustfield at 275.

Tanner Avelsgard at 103, Zac Zinda at 125, Russ Anderson at 140 and Matt Brehmer at 152 got pins for Lac qui Parle Valley.

103: Tanner Avelsgard, L, pin Jesse Lundebrek 1:44

112: Brett Hoffman, B, pin Nick Hanen 5:08

119: Colton Kanstrup, L, dec Ryan Thompson 12-10

125: Zac Zinda, L, pin Preston Flolo 4:21

130: Brad Plumhoff, B, tcfl Nathan Stottler 18-1

135: Miles Staton, B, dec Brett Tostenson 5-0

140: Russ Anderson, L, pin Turner Carson 1:38

145: Ryan Unke, B, dec Jack Massee 11-6

152: Matt Brehmer, L, pin Brandon Berends 4:40

160: Kevin Wersinger, B, won by forfeit

171: Tim Lundebrek, B, pin Justin Rice 2:58

189: Chris Carruth, B, pin Fritjof Engebretson 5:14

215: Jon Pierce, B, won by forfeit

275: Trenton Lustfield, B, pin Derek Miller 1:16



Lac qui Parle Valley won on the ninth criteria -- most reversals -- even after forfeiting at three weights. Derek Miller notched a pin at 275 pounds for the Eagles.

The Eagles also got wins from Nick Hanen at 112, Colton Kanstrup at 119, Nathan Stottler at 125, Zac Zinda at 130, Bret Tostenson at 135 and Matt Brehmer at 152.

Thomas Miller at 145 and Josh Schmaedke at 171 earned pins for MACCRAY Levi Berends at 103 and Tom Uttermark at 160 earned decisions.

103: Levi Berends, M, dec Tanner Avelsgard 4-3

112: Nick Hanen, L, pin Taylor Bodin 2:32

119: Colton Kanstrup, L, won by forfeit

125: Nathan Stottler, L, dec Matt Friese 7-5

130: Zac Zinda, L, dec Joe DeGrote 8-5

135: Bret Tostenson, L, pin Mark DeGrote 4:51

140: Tyler Steen, M, won by forfeit

145: Thomas Miller, M, pin Russ Anderson 1:32

152: Matt Brehmer, L, pin Mitch Rosendahl 5:19

160: Tom Uttermark, M, dec Justin Rice 2-0

171: Josh Schmaedke, M, pin Fritjof Engebretson :41

189: Mitch Grussing, M, won by forfeit

215: Abel Mendoza, M, won by forfeit

275: Derek Miller, L, pin Ryan Pederson 5:06

What To Read Next
Get Local