Wrestling: New London-Spicer thrashes Albany to secure 2nd in WCN

ALBANY -- New London-Spicer claimed second place in the West Central North Conference by upending Albany 40-22 a day before the conference tournament.

ALBANY -- New London-Spicer claimed second place in the West Central North Conference by upending Albany 40-22 a day before the conference tournament.

After Albany tied the match at 6-6, New London-Spicer (5-1, 12-2) got pins from Luke Reiter at 125 pounds, Christopher DeLong at 140 and Adam Luberts at 145 and decisions from Billy Dean at 130 and Brandon Keller at 135 to take a 30-6 lead.

The Wildcats also earned 12 points when Albany forfeited at 112 and heavyweight and got a major decision from John Nething at 160.

Long Prairie hosts the conference tournament today at 4 p.m.

NL-Spicer 40, Albany 22


103: Jamie Holt, A, dec Jordan Hennes 2-0

112: Chad Henle, N, won by forfeit

119: Matt Dowell, A, dec Shawn Hatlestad 5-3, OT

125: Luke Reiter, N, pin Brandon Panek 2:57

130: Billy Dean, N, dec Jacob Sand 5-4

135: Brandon Keller, N, dec John Bredeck 4-2, OT

140: Christopher DeLong, N, pin Brandon Schlangen 5:50

145: Adam Luberts, N, pin Max Faclon 2:35


152: Taylor Holthaus, A, maj Tom Duscher 12-2

160: John Nething, N, maj Kyle Litchy 13-3

171: Kurt Schlangen, A, dec Levi Schultz 7-3

189: Andrew Nienaber, A, pin Blake Johnson 4:52

215: Scott Groetsch, A, dec Ryane Clark 8-5

285: Zach Borka, N, won by forfeit


Wheaton/HN 56, Benson 18


Tim Lundebrek at 171 pounds and Chris Carruth at 189 earned the only pins for Benson, which also got a win at 130 when Wheaton/Herman-Norcross forfeited.

103: Will McCarthy, W, pin Matt Plumhoff :29

112: Riley Wilson, W, pin Cody Flower 3:21

119: Zac Fredgen, W, maj Josh Frentzel 14-1

125: Austin Nielson, W, dec Ryan Thompson 5-4

130: Brad Plumhoff, B, won by forfeit

135: Jesse Rath, W, pin Brett Hoffman 3:36

140: Nate Mord, W, maj Brady Wersinger 13-1


145: Ryan Schwagle, W, tcfl Miles Staton 17-2

152: Lee Schmitz, W, pin Brandon Berens 2:40

160: Brett Lennox, W, maj Ryan Unke 13-2

171: Tim Lundebrek, B, pin Trent Frisch 4:47

189: Chris Carruth, B, pin Reese Hanson 5:47

215: Darrin Nelson, W, pin Justin Golden 5:46

285: Tony Roesehlien, W, pin Dalton Staton 2:30

Benson 55, Ortonville 24


Benson won five of the first six matches to take a 30-6 lead. Matt Plumhoff at 103 pounds, Brett Hoffman at 130, Brad Plumhoff at 135, Tim Lundebrek at 171 and heavyweight Dalton Staton all posted pins for Benson.

103: Matt Plumhoff, B, pin Evan Starr 3:19

112: John Eustice, O, pin Cody Flower 1:57

119: Josh Frentzel, B, won by forfeit

125: Ryan Thompson, B, won by forfeit

130: Brett Hoffman, B, pin Taylor Stotesbery 3:30

135: Brad Plumhoff, B, pin Travis Diekmann 1:37

140: Patrick Eistice, O, pin Brady Wersinger 3:03


145: Miles Staton, B, maj Dylan Roggenbuck 17-5

152: Brandon Berens, B, dec Jason Rogness 4-0

160: Ryan Unke, B, won by forfeit

171: Tim Lundebrek, B, pin Aaron Skinner :20

189: Eric Croatt, O, pin Chris Carruth 1:31

215: David Webster, O, pin Justin Golden 1:24

285: Dalton Staton, B, pin Joe Nelson 2:23

What To Read Next
Get Local


Local Sports and News