Wrestling: YME, Dawson-Boyd, Canby, Minneota advance to 4A semis

First round RCW 39, LQPV 26 Renville County West and Lac qui Parle Valley won eight of the 14 matches, among them a a pin from Zach Freiborg at 125 pounds, a technical from Dakota Freiborg at 112 and three forfeits. 103: Colby Judovsky, LQP, dec ...

First round

RCW 39, LQPV 26

Renville County West and Lac qui Parle Valley won eight of the 14 matches, among them a a pin from Zach Freiborg at 125 pounds, a technical from Dakota Freiborg at 112 and three forfeits.

103: Colby Judovsky, LQP, dec Tyler Fagen 8-5

112: Dakota Freiborg, RCW, tcfl Nick Hanen 20-5


119: Colton Kanstrup, L, dec Trent Novotny 7-3

125: Zach Freiborg, R, pin Nathan Stottler 3:22

130: Zac Zinda, L, tcfl Brandon Brecendorf 15-0

135: Isaac John, RCW, won by forfeit

140: Chavis Bornhorst, L, pin Adam Schorn 2:53

145: Cole Gigstad, RCW, dec Jack Massee 4-2

152: Jake Freiborg, RCW, dec Matt Brehmer 2-0

160: Joe Dambroten, RCW, maj Justin Rice 13-4


171: Drew Hultquist, RCW, won by forfeit

189: Bob Huseby, RCW, won by forfeit

215: Fritjof Engebretson, L, dec Colton Hanson 4-2

275: Derek Miller, LQP, pin D.J. Weilage :09

MACCRAY 51, Ortonville 24

The Wolverines received three forfeits and notched first-periods pins by Tyler Steen in nine seconds at 140 pounds, Thomas Miller in 1:13 at 152 pounds, Josh Schmaedeka in 58 seconds at 171 and Mitch Grussing in 29 seconds at 189.

103: Levi Berends, M, dec John Eustice 7-5

112: Taylor Bodin, M, won by forfeit


119: Matt Friese, M, won by forfeit

125: Patrick Eustice, O, won by forfeit

130: Joe DeGrote, M, dec Kurt Eustice 10-7

135: Mark DeGrote, M, Jason Roggenbuck 4-2

140: Tyler Steen, M, pin Isaac Nelson :09

145: Mitch Rosedahl, M, won by forfeit

152: Thomas Miller, M, pin Dustin Ringsaker 1:13

160: Eric Croatt, O, pin Thomas Uttermark 3:09


171: Josh Schmaedeka, M, pin David Webster :58

189: Mitch Grussing, M, pin Taylor Stotesbery :29

215: Dustin Rosenbuck, O, pin Abel Mendoza 1:54

275: Matt Koval, O, pin Ryan Pederson :53


Canby 75, RCW 4

Dakota Freiborg's major decision at 112 pounds was the lone win for RCW.

Canby chalked up 12 pins in the win.


103: Brett Citrowski, Can, pin Tyler Fagen 2:55

112: Dakota Freiborg, RCW, maj Jake Lang 9-1

119: Austin Citrowski, C, pin Trent Novotny 3:51

125: Alex Kontz, Can, pin Cody Mclagan 1:01

130: Tyler Baer, Can, pin Zach Freiborg 3:28

135: John Verhelst, Can, pin Isaac John 3:28

140: Cody Baer, Can, pin Adam Schorn 1:02

145: Tad Merritt, Can, pin Cole Gigstad :56


152: Colby Citrowski, Can, pin Jake Freiborg :55

160: Brandon Claeys, C, dec Joe Dambroten 6-3

171: Logan Oellien, Can, pin Bob Huseby :54

189: Jesse Verhelst, Can, pin Will Lerud :36

215: Travis Hanson, Can, pin Colton Hanson :21

275: Evan Hacker, Can, pin D.J. Weilage :25


The Sting (20-2) lost only two matches and advanced to the semifinals.

Tanner Aus at 112 pounds had one of the five YME pins. Spenser Sannerud at 160, Jordan Stock at 171, Jordan Gaffaney at 215 and Tim Palm at heavyweight also notched pins for YME. Austen Cole had a major decision.

Wyatt Sand at 130, Landen Cole at 135, Nick Rolfing at 140 and Tom Jacobson at 152 also won for the Sting.

Thomas Miller at 152 and Mitch Grussing earned the lone wins for MACCRAY.

103: Austen Cole, Y, maj Levi Berends 17-3

112: Tanner Aus, Y, pin Taylor Bodin 1:14

119: Matt Williams, Y, won by forfeit

125: Casey Field, Y, won by forfeit

130: Wyatt Sand, Y, dec Joe DeGrote 2-0

135: Landen Cole, Y, dec Mark DeGrote 10-3

140: Nick Rolfing, Y, dec Tyler Steen 2-1

145: Thomas Miller, M, dec Eric Dubbelde 4-2

152: Tom Jacobson, Y, dec Mitch Rosendahl 8-2

160: Spenser Sannerud, Y, pin Tom Uttermark 2:15

171: Jordan Stock, Y, pin Josh Schmaedeka 1:08

189: Mitch Grussing, M, maj Evan Stock 13-3

215: Jordan Gaffaney, Y, pin Abel Mendoza 1:23

275: Tim Palm, Y, pin Ryan Pederson 2:08

Minneota 41, KMS 27

Minneota advanced to the section semifinals, never trailing the Fighting Saints after Sam Deryck opened the match with a pin at 103 pounds. Thomas Bueltel at 125, Rickey Peterson at 160 and Kevin Hammer at 171 also had pins for the Vikings.

KMS got pins from Spencer Almen at 119 pounds, Brad Kneisl at 215 and Cody Kinney at heavyweight.

KMS finished 7-10.

103: Sam Deryck, M, pin Tyler Carlson :26

112: Jordan Bottelberghe, M, dec Aaron Zimmer 10-5

119: Spencer Almen, K, pin Adam Longtin 3:05

125: Thomas Bueltel, M, pin Aaron Doraska 1:34

130: Kevin Steinhaus, K, dec Tanner Skillings 5-2

135: Matt Stassen, K, dec Remi Anderson 10-8

140: Cory Buysse, M, dec Mitchell Hagen 6-4

145: Craig Peterson, M, won by forfeit

152: Matt Buysse, M, tcfl Alex Baker 19-4

160: Rickey Peterson, M, pin Joel Bauman 2:51

171: Kevin Hammer, M, pin Adam Wentzel 1:11

189: Jeremy Peterson, K, dec Wade Eischens 7-3

215: Brad Kneisl, K, pin Michael Hammer :49

275: Cody Kinney, K, pin Grant Moorse :40

Dawson-Boyd 46, Benson 19

The Blackjacks rebounded from an early 9-6 deficit, winning five straight matches to advance to the semifinals.

Justin Sather came up with a pin at 103 pounds, but Benson grabbed th lead aftr Ryan Thompson's decision at 112 and Brett Hoffman's pin at 119.

Dawson-Boyd then got a decision from Jake Bothun at 125 and consecutive pins from Cameron Jurgenson at 130, Randy Strand at 135 and Luke Bothun at 140. Hank Ireland's decision at 145 capped the string and gave the Blackjacks a 30-9 advantage.

Travis Estling earned a major decision at 171 pounds and Clay Brown at 215 and Chris Schacherer at heavyweight finished with pins.

Benson finished 5-10.

103: Justin Sather, DB, pin Jesse Lundebrek :55

112: Ryan Thompson, B, dec Ryan Swenson 7-4

119: Brett Hoffman, Ben, pin Austin Oswald 3:42

125: Jatke Bothun, DB, dec Preston Flolo 12-6

130: Cameron Jurgenson, D, pin Brad Plumhoff 3:17

135: Randy Strand, DB, pin Brady Wersinger 1:44

140: Luke Bothun, DB, pin James Huston 1:27

145: Hank Ireland, DB, dec Ryan Unke 5-3

152: Brandon Berens, B, maj Allen Kurtenbach 13-1

160: Kevin Wersinger, Ben, dec Trevor Estling 6-2

171: Travis Estling, DB, maj Tim Lundebrek 13-5

189: Chris Carruth, Ben, dec Adam Miller 5-0

215: Clay Brown, DB, pin Jon Pierce :27

275: Chris Schacherer, DB, pin Justin Golden :36

What To Read Next
Get Local