Weather Forecast


Area election contests decided Tuesday

Voters in the Benson and MACCRAY school districts voted overwhelmingly in favor Tuesday of renewing their operating levies.

In the Benson School District, the levy question passed by 827 to 150, allowing the district to renew a $530 per pupil operating levy that is expiring.

By a similar margin, MACCRAY voters approved the renewal of a levy $342.36 per pupil. The vote was 506 in favor and 57 against.

Contests at the city level also were decided in Benson and Sacred Heart.

Benson City Council member Terri Collins was elected mayor with 626 votes. Her opponent, Anita Flodstrom, received 76 votes. A special election will be called to fill Collins's remaining term, which runs through 2019.

In a five-way contest for two positions on the City Council, Mark Schreck was elected with 558 votes and Jack Evenson was re-elected with 450 votes.

The other candidates and their vote totals were Brad Johnson, 256; Larry D. Smith, 89; and Terry Flodstrom, 46.

One of two openings on the Sacred Heart City Council was decided with write-in ballots. Dick Ashburn received 51 write-in votes for the position, an unofficial total that earned him a seat on the council along with Randy Johnson, who filed for office and received 63 votes.

There were two other candidates who sought election to the City Council: Tara Agre, who received 34 votes, and Jeremy Pharr, who had 29 votes.

Dan Agre was re-elected mayor of Sacred Heart with 82 votes. He ran unopposed.

Anne Polta

Anne Polta covers health care, business/economic development and general assignment. Her HealthBeat blog can be found at Follow her on Twitter at @AnnePolta.

(320) 235-1150