Weather Forecast


Here are our endorsements for the 2018 election

Tuesday is Election Day in west central Minnesota and the rest of America. The most important role of citizens is to vote.

Quite simply, your vote matters.

Here is a summary of the West Central Tribune's Editorial Board endorsements for the 2018 election

City of Willmar

Local Option Sales Tax: Willmar city voters have an opportunity to "Invest in Willmar" by voting yes on the proposed local option sales tax question on Nov. 6.

Mayor: Marv Calvin is seeking re-election to a second term. Voters have a clear choice in the race of mayor. Re-elect Calvin to a second term as mayor to keep Willmar moving forward.

Ward 2: Willmar voters have ... two good options for the Ward 2 seat on the City Council. ... Most importantly, both candidates — Vicki Davis and Christina Nelson — like and support all the residents of Willmar. ... Ward 2 voters have two qualified candidates to consider and can make the final decision.

Willmar School District Operating Levy: Voters in the Willmar Public Schools passed an operating levy of $221.36 per student in 2008 and this levy is expiring soon. The school board renewed $176.26 of the levy and is asking district voters to approve the balance of the levy - $45.10 per pupil - for a period of 10 years. Voters should vote yes on this school levy.

Willmar School Board: Voters will be voting on three at-large seats on the Willmar School Board on Nov. 6. Voters should select the individuals most committed to serving on this educational board. Elect Mary M. Amon, Jay Lawton and Michelle Marotzke to the Willmar School Board.

Kandiyohi County

Sheriff: Voters narrowed their choice in the August primary for the Kandiyohi County sheriff role to two candidates — Eric Holien and Greg Stehn. Stehn has the experience, dedication and leadership needed to lead the department into the next decade while protecting and serving all the residents of Kandiyohi County and its communities. Voters should elect Stehn as the next sheriff.

District 1: The First District features two political newcomers to the county - Dale L. Anderson and George "Corky" Berg. Berg is the most qualified and experienced candidate among the two candidates.

District 3: District 3 has the choice of two experienced county commissioners - current commissioner Rollie Nissen and former commissioner Bruce Shuck. Nissen has shown the ability to work collaboratively with staff, his fellow commissioners and officials outside the county. Voters should re-elect Nissen as their county commissioner.


House 17B: The House 17B race features incumbent Dave Baker, R-Willmar, who has served two terms in the Minnesota House. He should be re-elected for a third term.

House 17A: The House 17A race features two candidates with legislative experience - incumbent Tim Miller, R-Prinsburg, and Lyle Koenen, DFL-Clara City. Either candidate would be a suitable choice for the district. The final choice will be up to District 17A voters.

Here are Minnesota statewide and federal offices endorsements by Forum Communications Co. management and The Forum Editorial Board.

Governor: Jeff Johnson is the clear choice to be Minnesota's next governor.

Attorney General: Doug Wardlow is our choice for Minnesota's next attorney general.

Secretary of State: In the Minnesota secretary of state race, we support Steve Simon, who has held the position since 2015.

State Auditor: Pam Myhra is our choice for state auditor in Minnesota.

U.S. Senate: The first woman elected to represent Minnesota in the Senate, Amy Klobuchar deserves a third term.

U.S. Senate: Karen Housley's voice will complement Klobuchar's, and Minnesota voters should send her to the U.S. Senate.

Congress 7th District: Rep. Collin Peterson, the DFL incumbent, should remain in the job.