Amateur Baseball: Three new members added to the West Central Minnesota Baseball Hall of Fame

Obert Gjerde of Sunburg, Rick Maursetter of Willmar and Allan Rambow of Willmar are the 2022 inductees.

WCM Baseball HOF logo.CUE.800x500.v2.jpg
West Central Area Baseball Hall of Fame
We are part of The Trust Project.

WILLMAR — There are three new members to the West Central Minnesota Baseball Hall of Fame.

Obert Gjerde of Sunburg, Rick Maursetter of Willmar and Allan Rambow of Willmar make up the 2022 induction class to the West Central Minnesota Hall of Fame.

The group is selected by the Kandiyohi County Historical Society.

Obert Gjerde


Gjerde was born and raised in Sunburg, graduating from Kerkhoven High School in 1957. He played his first baseball game at the age of 22 for the Norway Lake Lakers amateur baseball team. He played 13 seasons at third base, batting .250. In 1968, he was part of a Norway Lake team that made it to the state tournament and advanced to the state semifinals. He began managing the team in 1987.

Rick Maursetter Head Shot.jpeg
Rick Maursetter

Maursetter was born and raised in Montevideo. He played four years at Montevideo High School, then four more at St. Olaf College in Northfield. He also played two years with the Montevideo Spartans amateur baseball team. He has been a member of the Willmar Baseball Boosters for more than 25 years. He also coached the Willmar Rails starting in 2002. And was the committee chairman for the building of Jack Taunton Stadium.

Allan Rambow001.jpg
Allan Rambow

Rambow was born in 1930 in St. Johns Township in Kandiyohi County. He graduated from Willmar High School in 1948, where he played for three years. He also played for the Willmar American Legion baseball team and the Willmar Kernels amateur baseball team. Rambow played for the Raymond amateur baseball team from 1953-69. He was an outfielder with speed and a strong arm. He died in 2021.

The induction ceremony will take place in 2022 with a time and location to be announced.


What to read next
LQPV leads the way with four selections, followed by KMS and Litchfield.
Dreyer Homan is named to 10-person Class A state team at Target Field.
Wolverines senior played in Class A golf championship, then suited up in CF for the baseball team