Area Notebook: Anderson locks up Lakeland title

Top four golfers under par in 54-hole tournament

WILLMAR — With the top four all within four strokes of each other and shooting under par, Danny Anderson was able to hold off the field and win the 2020 Lakeland Championship Sunday at Eagle Creek Golf Club.

Shooting 9-under par with a two-day, 54-hole score of 207, Anderson was able to hold off Matt Gorans (208), Brady Madsen (209) and Andy Jacobson (210). Topher Baron rounded out the top five with 223.

Tied at 174 through 45 holes, Anderson carded a 33 on the final nine holes, besting Gorans by a stroke. Anderson and Madsen both had 33s over the final nine to lead the field.

In the Presidents Flight, Dean Wilson held off Isaac Nelson and Tyler Johnson by a stroke to win with a 45-hole total of 195. In the Hogan Flight, Barry Rothwell won by five strokes with a 45-hole score of 205. Howie Swift won the Senior Championship Flight with a 36-hole score of 159, beating Bob Poe by a stroke.

2020 Lakeland Championship

At Eagle Creek Golf Club
Championship Flight
(1) Danny Anderson 207 (2) Matt Gorans 208 (3) Brady Madsen 209 (4) Andy Jacobson 210 (5) Topher Baron 223 (T6) Jim Anderson and Jon Beaver 224 (T8) John Spreiter and Brett Mathiowetz 226 (10) Pete Hannig 227 (T11) Shawn Bohlsen and Chad Akerson 229 (13) Josh Hagstrom 230 (14) Chris Bennett 231
Presidents Flight
(1) Dean Wilson 195 (T2) Isaac Nelson and Tyler Johnson 196 (4) Cody Erickson 199 (5) Cass Wiershem 200 (6) Ted Wirtz 201 (T7) Dylan Ferrell and Josh Cole 202 (9) Sam Garthune 203 (10) Stevin Carlson 204 (11) Carter Asche 206 (12) Jeff Lindemann 209 (13) Ethan Bohlsen 211
Hogan Flight
(1) Barry Rothwell 205 (T2) Jason Weiland and Eric Means 210 (4) Nate Boie 211 (5) Derek Dionne 213 (6) Luke Haugen 217 (7) Chad Pendill 218 (8) Stephen Stuhr 222 (9) Andy Zuidema 227 (10) Talon Hicks 228 (DNF) Chris Engle, Scott Carruthers and Scott Kragh
Senior Championship Flight
(1) Howie Swift 159 (2) Bob Poe 160 (T3) Norm Strehlow and Chris O’Hagen 163 (5) Roque Arcilla 164 (6) Jon Grabow 165 (7) Marc Redman 167 (8) Mac Habicht 170 (9) Gordy Lindblad 172 (10) Brian Berget 173 (11) Ken Warzecha 174

Rockets to honor Nelson

During the Raymond Rockets’ annual Hall of Fame game, 20-year veteran Zach Nelson will be honored prior to the game on Saturday, July 11 against Clinton.


The induction ceremony will take place at 1:30 p.m. at Lilleberg Field in Raymond, followed by the Rockets/Cards game scheduled for 2:30 p.m. Lunch will be served after the induction.

Joe Brown is a sports reporter for the West Central Tribune.

He can be reached via email at: or his office number: 320-214-4332.
What To Read Next
Get Local