SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE 3 months just 99¢/month



Area Notebook: Ex-Card dominating in cross-country

Willmar's Leah Hansen is South Dakota State's top runner

Former Willmar standout Leah Hansen now runs cross-country for South Dakota State. She recently was named the Summit League's cross-country athlete of the week. Photo courtesy of South Dakota State

Former Willmar Cardinals distance runner Leah Hansen is having an excellent season at South Dakota State.

Hansen was named the TicketSmarter Summit League women’s cross-country athlete of the week for the second time in three weeks.

Hansen was the top Summit League finisher at the University of Minnesota’s Roy Griak Invitational, finishing 15th overall. She had a time of 21 minutes, 31.2 seconds over the 6,000-meter course at the Les Bolstad Golf Course in Falcon Heights. The Jackrabbits took 10th.

Hansen is the defending Summit League champion. She also won league weekly honors after taking first place at the South Dakota State Classic on Sept. 10.

She also runs for the SDSU women’s track and field team. She’s a sophomore.


CLC performers

Willmar’s Michael Price, Abdullahi Mohamed, Avery Quinn, Emmie Larson and Katelyn Garberding have been named Central Lakes Conference performers of the week.

Price, a running back, rushed 16 times for 134 yards and three touchdowns in a win over Delano.

Mohamed scored three goals and had an assist in three games for the boys soccer team.

Quinn, a defender on the girls soccer team, shut down key offensive plays and limited quality shots on goal.

Larson and Garberding are on Willmar’s girls tennis team. The No. 3 doubles duo won an exciting, three-set match vs. Sartell.

Others earned CLC performer-of-the-week honors were:

  • From Sauk Rapids — Jayce Walrath on the football team, Callen Kieke on the boys soccer team and boys cross-country runner Kieran Hixson;

  • From Sartell — Madden Quinn on the girls soccer team and Mady Dockendorf of the girls cross-country team;

  • From St. Cloud Apollo — Lucy Heringlake on the girls swim team and Aburey Preisler on the girls diving team;

  • From St. Cloud Tech — Paige Tarrolly on the St. Cloud Crush girls tennis team;

  • From Rocori — Jack Spoden of the boys cross-country team;

  • From Alexandria — Emma Ecker of the girls cross-country team;

  • From Fergus Falls — Tori Ratz of the volleyball team;

  • From Brainerd —Hala Davis of the volleyball team.

Bowlers go 3-0

Willmar’s bowling team posted a 3-0 record after its first week of the West Central High School competition. Willmar beat Alexandria and Benson and had a first-round bye. The team bowls a best-of-five games in each round.

Willmar bowled games of 188, 178, 139, 146 and 188 against Benson. Willmar then had games of 169, 148, 145, 148 and 158 against the bye team. And against Alexandria, Willmar had scores of 162, 161, 163, 198 and 151.


Willmar’s next round of competition is in Alexandria. It bowls against Yellow Medicine East, New London-Spicer and Benson.

2 from Dawson honored

Dick Erickson and Dan Lee, both from Dawson, will be inducted into the Minnesota Softball Hall of Fame.

Erickson and Lee are among 18 individuals who will be honored at the 31st Minnesota Softball Hall of Fame banquet Oct. 30 at the Westwood Cove Golf Club in Albert Lea.

The hall honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of softball.

There are 18 inductees this year. Erickson and Lee are being inducted as players. Sponsors, promoters, administrators, organizers, volunteers and media members also are eligible for induction.

Tickets are available at a cost of $45 each. Write to: Minnesota Softball Hall of Fame, 118 12th Ave. No., South St. Paul, MN 55075 or go on-line . Phone (651) 451-3140 for more information. The ticket deadline is Oct. 22.


MSHSL hall of fame

This year’s inductees into the Minnesota State High School League’s Hall of Fame include baseball star Joe Mauer of Cretin-Derham Hall, Minneapolis North boys basketball coach larry McKenzie and Mahtomedi gymnast Mindy Myhre.

Other inductees include: Ron Ackerman of Fridley (wrestling official); Debbie Dirscoll (Mahtomedi gymnastics coach); John Foberty (Cannon Falls speech and debate caoch); Brian Luke (Stillwater swim coach); Larry Martin (Minnetonka public address announcer at state swimming); Chris McCdonald (Eagan speech and debate coach); Dr. William Roberts (St. Paul, chair of the league’s sports medicine advisory committee); John Washington (Minneapolis, activities director and coach); and Jim Winzierl (Park Rapids; official, Region 8A executive secretary).

The hall of fame induction ceremony is April 24. The first league hall of fame class was in 1991. There are now 244 members.

101320.S.WCT.Willmar GSoccer Avery Quinn.JPG
Willmar's Avery Quinn (17) and Hutchinson/GSL's Paola Pena chase after the ball during a 2020 Section 6A first-round game at Hodapp Field in Willmar. Joe Brown / West Central Tribune

What to read next
Willmar boys place third, girls place fourth
Cardinals go 1-1 at triangular at Waconia
Willmar tops Fergus Falls 57-52 to improve to 3-2 in conference
Cardinals even the season series with a 4-3 win over the Storm