Area Wrestling Roundup: Willmar makes it 67 in a row

Cardinals have won eight straight CLC titles after wins over Fergus Falls, Sauk Rapids


WILLMAR — The Willmar wrestling team continued its amazing Central Lakes Conference winning streak by winning two more Thursday night at the Big Red Gym.

The Cardinals, ranked third in the state in Class AAA, knocked off Fergus Falls 64-12 and Sauk Rapids 42-24.

Willmar has won 67 conference matches in a row and has wrapped up its eighth straight Central Lakes championship. The Cardinals are 12-0 in the CLC and 21-1 overall with two conference duals to go. Rocori (8-3) and Brainerd (7-2) were chasing Willmar in the standings going into Thursday night.

Against Fergus Falls, Willmar got pins from Ivan Ciriaco-Mares at 106 pounds, Conlan Carlson at 113, Sullivan Anez at 120, Joe Kallevig at 160, Kaden Hartwell at 170, Tyler Ludwig at 182, Kaden Streed at 195, Mason Swanson at 220 and Daunte Castellano at 285.

Willmar’s next meet is Tuesday. The Cardinals host Rocori and St. Cloud Tech/Apollo/Cathedral in a triangular.


Willmar Triangular
Willmar 64,
Fergus Falls 12

106: Ivan Ciriaco-Mares, W, pinned Blake Roberts, 1:21
113: Conlan Carlson, W, pinned Kassten Hartwell, 1:33
120: Sullivan Anez, W, pinned Carsten Fronning, :16
126: Double forfeit
132: Steve Cruze, W, won by forfeit
138: Caden Carlson, W, won by forfeit
145: Braeden Erickson, W, major dec. Jacob Widness, 15-3
152: Sam Sorum, FF, pinned Cameren Champagne, 1:53
160: Joe Kallevig, W, pinned Jonah Sorum, 2:37
170: Kaden Hartwell, FF, pinned Jacob Leiva, 2:31
182: Tyler Ludwig, W, pinned Delvin Roberts, 5:34
195: Kaden Streed, W, pinned Lance Graff, 1:44
220: Mason Swanson, W, pinned Nathan Severtson, :51
285: Daunte Castellano, W, pinned Dane Hastings, :42

Willmar 42,
Sauk Rapids 24

Willmar held off a late rally by Sauk Rapids to win the dual, building a 36-15 lead heading into the final four weights.

Kaden Streed’s fall at 195 clinched the victory for the Cardinals. Streed, ranked sixth in the state in Class AA, pinned the Storm’s Beaux Sychampanakhone in 51 seconds.

106: Vance Barz, SR, dec Ivan Ciriaco-Mares, 8-2
113: Conlan Carlson, W, dec Alex Diederich, 7-4
120: Sully Anez, W, pinned Jack Barz, 1:08
126: Luke Scheeler, SR, won by forfeit
132: Steven Cruze, W, pinned Brayden Ness, 3:34
138: Caden Carlson, W, dec Andrew Wollak, 6-2
145: Braeden Erickson, W, pinned Owen Scheeler, 2:17
152: Cameron Champagne, W, dec Reid Kiffmeyer, 9-2
160: Joe Kallevig, W, pinned Kieran Hixson, 1:59
170: Jacob Leiva, W, dec Matt Krepp, 3-1
182: Cole Ackerman, SR, pinned Tyler Ludwig, 1:07
195: Kaden Streed, W, pinned Beaux Sychampanakhone, 0:51
220: Joey Hoeschen, SR, dec Mason Swanson, 4-1
285: Dane Dingmann, SR, pinned Daunte Castellano, 6:31 (OT)

D-C/Litchfield 53,
Ann./ML 18

Dassel-Cokato/Litchfield, ranked fourth in Class AA, handed Annandale/Maple Lake its first Wright County Conference loss of the season with the victory at Annandale.

A/ML is Lean and Mean honorable-mention in Class AA.

Andrew Joedemann (No. 5 at 106) beat Noah Gindele (No. 4 at 106) with a pin in 5:29 for D-C/Litch.

At 195, D-C/Litch’s Beau Nelson (No. 8 at 195) beat Adam Newman (No. 6 at 182), 13-11 in overtime.


106: Andrew Joedeman, DC/L, pinned Noah Gindele, 5:29
113: Victor Franco, DC/L, dec Zayne Brown, 9-7 (OT)
120: Mitchell Koss, A/ML, pinned Wyatt Decker, 3:57
126: Gabe Nelson, DC/L, dec Zach Pribyl, 10-4
132: Monte Gillman, DC/L, pinned Cole LaFave, 1:04
138: Jerry Simes, DC/L, maj dec Jackson Bunde, 15-2
145: Shelby Fischer Lund, DC/L, pinned Shay McClory, 3:27
152: Eddie Simes, DC/L, pinned Carson Cooper, 1:04
160: Jude Link, DC/L, maj dec Zach Schmidt, 19-8
170: Jack Klug, A/ML, pinned Tate Link, 0:59
182: Will O’Brien, DC/L, pinned Riley Hall, 1:00
195: Beau Nelson, DC/L, dec Adam Neumann, 13-11 (OT)
220: Hayden Hoernemann, DC/L, pinned Alex Klatt, 0:21
285: Kessler Kenning, A/ML, pinned Brendan Rokala, 1:17

MAHACA Triangular
BBE 49,

Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa, ranked No. 2 in Class A, overcame a 15-6 deficit to beat host Morris Area/Hanock Area/Chokio-Alberta.

The Jaguars got pins Tanner Viesmann (113), Blaine Fischer (152), Dylan Kampsen (170), Cooper Wold (182) and Bryce Feuerhake (285).

106: Tyce Anderson, M, dec Brett DeRoo, 6-4 (OT)
113: Tanner Viessman, BBE, pinned Andrew Marty, 3:17
120: Dallas Walton, M, dec Ryan Jensen, 3-1
126: Ethan Lebrija, M, dec Walker Bents, 4-3
132: Davin Rose, M, pinned Wyatt Engen, 1:58
138: Tyler Jensen, BBE, won by forfeit
145: Ben Waller, BBE, won by forfeit
152: Blaine Fischer, BBE, pinned Dain Schroeder, 5:16
160: Maximus Hanson, BBE, dec Hunter Massner, 5-1
170: Dylan Kampsen, BBE, pinned Asher Malek, 0:54
182: Cooper Wold, BBE, pinned Toby Messner, 1:58
195: Hunter Gibson, M, pinned Mark Jenniges, 0:43
220: Ethan Spanier, BBE, maj dec Brock Marty, 16-3
285: Bryce Feuerhake, BBE, pinned Carter Gibson, 1:55
*MAHACA lost one point due to unsportsmanlike conduct

Osakis Triangular
Paynesville 49,
Osakis 28

Paynesville used two pins, a major decision and six forfeits to rout host Osakis.

Brandon Hess at 120 and Grant Wendtlandt (160) won by fall for Paynesville.

Craig Schmitz won by major decision at 138 for the Bulldogs, 15-3.

106: Jacob Taplin, O, maj dec Mason McNab, 13-2
113: Logan Grove, O, pinned Preston Welling, 1:10
120: Brandon Hess, P, pinned Lukas Duchene, 1:10
126: Mitchell Blonigen, P, dec Christian Nathe, 8-3
132: Gaven Cimbura, O, pinned Jose Anaya, 2:40
138: Craig Schmitz, P, maj dec Carsten Jacobson, 15-3
145: Kale Drevlow, O, won by forfeit
152: Tyson Hagedon, O, pinned Trenton LeClaire, 4:48
160: Grant Wendlandt, P, pinned Kaleb Helberg, 1:50
170: Aaron Mages, P, won by forfeit
182: Peyton Hemmesch, P, won by forfeit
195: Seth Vearrier, P, won by forfeit
220: Spencer Eisenbraun, P, won by forfeit
285: Jake Kunstleben, P, won by forfeit

Kimball 75,
Paynesville 6

Kimball, ranked fourth in Class A, handled Paynesville at Osakis.

Paynesville’s lone victory came at 106 pounds. Mason McNab pinned Mark Schiefelbein in 4:56.

106: Mason McNab, P, pinned Mark Schiefelbein, 4:56
113: Jack Bollman, K, pinned Preston Welling, 1:12
120: Chase Anderson, K, pinned Brandon Hess, 0:56
126: Gavin Winter, K, won by forfeit
132: Lucas Jurek, K, pinned Jose Anaya, 3:52
138: Alex Nelson, K, dec Craig Schmitz, 9-3
145: Hank Meyer, K, won by forfeit
152: Cody Leither, K, pinned Treton LeClaire, 2:57
160: Logan Kuseske, K, won by forfeit
170: Zack Holtz, K, pinned Aaron Mages, 1:12
182: Ashton Hanan, K, pinned Peyton Hemmesch, 0:51
195: Brandon Guggisberg, K, won by forfeit
220: Carter Holtz, K, pinned Spencer Eisenbraun, 1:33

285: Ace Meyer, K, won by forfeit

What To Read Next
The Fighting Saints comeback to defeat the Bluejays, 53-30.
Lac qui Parle Valley defeats Central Minnesota Christian, 62-51.
Prep wrestling report for Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2023, in west central Minnesota. Cardinals post wins over Moorhead, Perham on Senior Night at the Big Red Gym
Prep boys basketball report for Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2023, in west central Minnesota. Junior guard returns to the lineup in Fighting Saints’ 53-30 win at CMCS