Auto Racing: Grove City driver nabs first at KRA Speedway

Bruce Laabs earns A Feature fictory in the Pure Stock Division on Thursday night.

WILLMAR — Bruce Laabs of Grove City wound up winning the A Feature in the Pure Stock Division on Thursday night at KRA Speedway.

After winning the first of two heats, Laabs beat Taylor Olson of Atwater and Chris Isdal of Spicer. Isdl finished runner-up to Laabs in the first heat. Olson was third in the second hit.

Laabs went into the night 15th for the season among points leaders in the Pure Stock Division with 159 points, including one win and two top-five finishes. Joe Martin of Willmar was first with 638, followed by Cody Hatch of Olivia with 618 and Isdal with 577. Olson was eighth at 489.

Another big area winner Thursday was Jordan Tollakson. The Montevideo driver earned the A Feature victory in the Dirt Late Models Division, a special class added to Thursday’s card. He beat Shane Edginton of Winnipeg, Manitoba, and Dave Mass of East Bethel.

A third area winner was Matthew Dittman of Willmar, who won the A Feature in the WISSOTA Hornet Division. Dittman is the season points leader in the division, going into Thursday’s races with 1,165 points.


Next up at KRA Speedway is the NAPA Central Minnesota Free Grandstand Night. Admission is free for those who get a wristband from the Willmar NAPA store. Races begin at 7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 26.

KRA Speedway

Results Thursday

Pure Stock

Heat 1 — (1) Bruce Laabs, Grove City … (2) Chris Isdal, Spicer … (3) Jared Kelm, Murdock
Heat 2 — (1) Cody Hatch, Olivia … (2) Brock Hedtke, Atwater … (3) Taylor Olson, Atwater
A Feature — (1) Laabs … (2) Olson … (3) Isdal

WISSOTA Midwest Mods

Heat 1 — (1) Jake Smith, St. Joseph … (2) Ashley Mehrwerth, St. Stephen … (3) Corey Storck, Morris
A Feature — (1) Smith … (2) A. Mehrwerth … (3) Brandon Mehrwerth, Foley



Heat 1 — (1) Dustin Holtquist, St. Joseph … (2) Peewee Kuhnau, Litchfield
Heat 2 — (1) Robert Holtquist, Milbank (S.D.) … (2) Tyler Larson, Kandiyohi … (3) Josh Litzau, Atwater
A Feature — (1) R. Holtquist … (2) Larson … (3) Litzau

WISSOTA Super Stock

Heat 1 — (1) Jacob Knapper, Montevideo … (2) Jeff Flaten, Hancock … (3) Zach Schultz, Grove City
Heat 2 — (1) Dexton Koch, Becker … (2) Andrew Johnson, Brainerd … (3) Jay Hedtke, Grove City
A Feature — (1) Koch … (2) Knapper … (3) Schultz


Heat 1 — (1) Matthew Dittman, Willmar … (2) Doug Martin, Willmar … (3) Joe Martin, Willmar
A Feature — (1) Dittman … (2) D. Martin … (3) Justin Schelitzche, Watertown.

Dirt Late Models

Heat 1 — (1) Dave Mass, East Bethel … (2) Chuck Swenson, Watertown (S.D.) … (3) Blair Nothdurft, Renner (S.D.)
Heat 2 — (1) Luke Sathoff, Jackson … (2) Jordan Tollakson, Montevideo … (3) Jon Tollakson, Montevideo
Heat 3 — (1) Chad Olsen, Hendricks … (2) Brad Vogt, Pierce (Neb.) … (3) Blake Swenson, Watertown (S.D.)
A Feature — (1) Tallakson … (2) Shane Edington, Winnipeg (Manitoba) … (3) Mass.
What To Read Next
Minnesota outscored Denver by 16 points in McLaughlin’s 12 minutes en route to a 128-98 rout of the Nuggets.
Delayed event to finish on Monday.
Cousins threw three touchdown passes, besting Derek Carr's two for the AFC in likely his last appearance in Las Vegas as a member of the Raiders.
After a week off, the Wild will play the Arizona Coyotes on Monday night at Mullett Arena in Tempe, Arizona.