Weather Forecast


Slagter to play in All-Star Series

Willmar boys basketball takes on Zimmerman in a Section 5AAA quarterfinal on March 6. Curt Hogg / Tribune

Two Noahs from the Tribune-area teams will be among 40 of the state's outstanding senior boys basketball players competing in the 36th annual Minnesota High School All-Star Basketball Series.

Willmar's Noah Slagter will play for the Gold team while Hancock's Noah Kannegiesser will play for the Maroon team.

Doubleheaders are Friday, April 6 at Halenbeck Hall at St. Cloud State University, and Saturday, April 7 at Leonard Center at Macalester College in St. Paul.

Friday's event will be tipped off by a contest between the Blue and Green teams at 7 p.m. The Gold and Maroon teams will culminate the evening's activities with an 8:45 p.m. contest.

Saturday's schedule will include games at 2 p.m. and 3:45 p.m. A dunking exhibition will precede each of the games and a half-time 3-point shooting contest will take place on both dates.

Tickets at the door are $8 for adults and $6 for senior citizens and students (5 & under are free).

Selections were made from nominations provided by each athlete's coach and includes athletes who are available and have committed to participate in the event.

Minnesota High School

All-Star Basketball Series

Maroon Roster

Coach: John Moore, Benilde-St. Margaret's

Assistant Coach: Michael Swann, Benilde-St. Margaret's


Sy Chatman, Cretin-Derham Hall

Joe Dunn, Benilde-St. Margaret's

Joe Hedstrom, Hopkins

Gabe Kalscheur, Mpls. DeLaSalle

Trever Kaiser, Dassel-Cokato

Noah Kannegiesser, Hancock

Cody Landwehr, Sauk Rapids-Rice

Anders Nelson, Edina

Nate Seelye, Grand Rapids

Brevyn Spann-Ford, St. Cloud Tech

Gold Roster

Coach: Todd Henrickson, Barnesville

Assistant Coach: Tracy Hinsz, Barnesville


Anthony Davis, Hopkins

Duoth Gach, Austin

Owen King, Caledonia

Luke Martens, Apple Valley

Beijan Newbern, Maranatha Academy

Daniel Oturu, Cretin-Derham Hall

Mitchell Plombon, St. Cloud Cathedral

Nathan Rund, Fergus Falls

Noah Slagter, Willmar

Ethan Youso, Virginia

Blue Roster

Coach: Mark Tuchscherer, Champlin Park

Assistant Coach: Matt Hoelz, Champlin Park


Damani Hayes, Mankato East

Michael Jones, Woodbury

Marc Kjos, Lake City

Trey Lance, Marshall

Ryan Larson- Cretin-Derham Hall

Jarvis Omersa, Orono

Jake Phipps, Anoka

Josiah Strong, Champlin Park

Zach Theisen, Osseo

Odell Wilson, Mpls. North

Green Roster

Coach: Tim Staloch, Maple Lake

Assistant Coach: Casey Pack, Maple Lake


Justin Balcome, Alexandria

Javonni Bickham, Minnehaha Academy

Jarius Cook, Park Center

Quentin Hardrict, Columbia Heights

Tayler Johnson, Mpls. North

Tyler Lewko, Lakeville North

Nolan Malo, Owatonna

Michael Schaefer, St. Cloud Cathedral

Eric Tiedman, Jordan

Matt Todd, Monticello