Weather Forecast


Hovland, Slagter earn Lions Awards

1 / 2
2 / 2

WILLMAR — Cayle Hovland and Noah Slagter were named winners of the Lions Award as Willmar High School's top senior athletes for 2018.

WHS athletes were honored at the school's annual awards program on Sunday.

Among many honors, Hovland earned 16 varsity letters, was an all-state basketball player and a multiple state track and field entrant and a member of the Cardinals' state-tournament basketball team.

Slagter earned 10 letters, was the Cardinals basketball team's MVP four times, was a Minnesota Mr. Basketball candidate and ended his career as Willmar's all-time scoring leader with 2,045 points.

Olivia Welsh and Cameron Murphy were honored as Lane Erickson Memorial Scholarship Award winners, and Jordyn Swoboda and Garrett Shuldes were Dean Anderson Award winners.

Laura Christianson and Noah Getz won the Cardinal True Grit Awards, and Natalie Amon and Gerson Maldonado-Garcia were Jim Henlin Memorial Award winners.

MaKenna Hogan and Clay Carlson were recognized as Triple A Award winners for their participation in academics, arts and athletics.

Madison Stoeberl, Laura Woltjer, Amon, Christianson, Getz, Hovland, Murphy, Slagter and Swoboda were honored with the Cardinal Commitment 3X4 Award as three-sport athletes each year of their four-year high school careers.