WILLMAR — For the second straight year, the Eagle Creek Stroke Play Club Championship was decided by a playoff hole.

Matt Gorans emerged as the 2021 champion, beating Andy Jacobson for the title Sunday at Eagle Creek Golf Club.

After 27 holes, the two were tied with a 3-under par score of 105. Gorans led after 18 holes with a round of 69, with Jacobson carding a 34 through the final nine to force a playoff.

Playing on hole No. 10, Gorans clinched the Stroke Play championship with a birdie.

It was the second straight year that Jacobson finished as runner up. In 2020, Danny Anderson beat Jacobson on the first playoff hole.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Pete Hannig also shot below par for the tournament with a 2-under 106. Chris Bennett (111) and Derek Dionne (112) rounded out the top five.

In the 18-hole senior flight, Roque Arcilla beat last year’s senior champ, Jim Schammel, by a stroke. Arcilla finished with a 72, followed by Schammel’s 73.

Lori Jacobson was the women’s flight champion with an 82.

Stroke Play Club Championship

At Eagle Creek Golf Club
Championship Flight
(1) Matt Gorans (won in playoff) 105 (2) Andy Jacobson 105 (3) Pete Hannig 106 (4) Chris Bennett 111 (5) Derek Dionne 112 (6) Jim Anderson 114 (7t) Shawn Bohlsen; Chad AKerson; and Hunter Mottinger 115 (10t) Joey Wisocki; and Corey Nelson 117 (12) Eric Means 118 (13) Joel Jungers 119 (14) Benji Olson 121 (15) Jeff Martinka 123 (16) Deiken Carruthers 130
Senior Flight
(1) Roque Arcilla 72 (2) Jim Schammel 73 (3) Jon Grabow 78 (4) Howie Swift 79 (5) Mark Johnston 81 (6) Ken Warzecha 82 (7t) Mike Slette; and Clark Vollan 83 (9t) Gordy Lindblad; and Mac Habicht 87
Women’s Flight
(1) Lori Jacobson 82

Hole in One

Jeff Olson scored a hole-in-one during the 26th Annual Rem/Rabi Tournament Sunday at Olivia Golf Club.

The ace is the first in the history of the Rem/Rabi Tournament. It was the second hole-in-one for Olson.

Olson got the ace on hole No. 5 with a 9-iron from 136 yards out. Witnesses were: Jay Lacount; Ken Dooner; Pat Reichel; Buddy Melin; Tom Smith; Ricky Borba; and Paul Kaumann.