Prep Wrestling: ACGC, United headed to state tournament

Dawson-Boyd, Lac qui Parle Valley or Montevideo have never qualified for the state wrestling tournament as a team. Now all three are going -- United as one.

At 182 pounds, ACGC senior Maverick Whitcomb (35-3) controls Paynesville senior Mike Ludwig (27-6) to gain an 11-2 major decision in the semifinals of the Section 5A tournament Friday at Grove City. Tribune photo by Rand Middleton
We are part of The Trust Project.

Dawson-Boyd, Lac qui Parle Valley or Montevideo have never qualified for the state wrestling tournament as a team. Now all three are going - United as one.

The United, the No. 1-seed in the North, toppled South’s No. 1 Worthington 42-19 in the Section 3AA title match Friday at Yellow Medicine East High School to punch a ticket for the Class AA state meet at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Also headed to the ‘X’, is perennial area power Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City. The top-seeded Falcons cruised past No. 4 Paynesville 63-6 in the semifinals and No. 2 Kimball 57-7 in the championship Friday at the Section 5A tourney on their home mat.

It will be the ninth appearance at state for ACGC, which won a state title in 2007. The state tournament begins Thursday, Feb. 27 with the team competition. The following two days will feature the individual tournament.

Section 3AA Championship


United 43, Worthington 19

The United had control of the entire dual, winning eight of the first nine matches. Jordan Bothun at 120, Spencer Sulflow at 132, Mason Kwilinski at 160 and Jake Lehmann at 285 all earned falls for the victors.

106: Peyton Mortenson, U, dec Hser Eh Pwae 12-5

113: Donald Bothun, U, dec Hser Moo Pwae 5-0

120: Jordan Bothun, U, tcfl Ethan Pavelko 24-9

126: Anthony Luft, W, pin Bailey Eickhoff 1:59

132: Spencer Sulflow, U, pin Jeffrey Camacho 3:46

138: Logan Knoshal, U, dec King Blanchette 10-3


145: Mitch Kwilinski, U, dec Cody Michelson 3-2

152: Keith Abraham, U, maj Torey Rogers 9-1

160: Mason Kwilinski, U, pin Vince Riley 2:57

170: Zach Kempema, W, maj Wyatt Ireland 17-7

182: Blake Schroeder, W, dec Joe Weeding 4-3

195: Carson Hagen, W, pin Markus Kranz 3:10

220: David Nelson, U, dec Peter Abraham 4-3

285: Jake Lehmann, U, pin Trevor Wietzema 3:42


Section 3AA Semifinals

United 51, Fairmont/Martin County West 21

Pins from Payton Mortenson at 106, Jordan Bothun at 120, Bailey Eickhoff at 126, Spencer Sulflow at 132 and Logan Knoshal at 138, and a decision from Donald Bothun at 113 gave the United a quick 33-0 lead.

The United later got pins from Joe Weeding at 170 and Anthony Quigley at 182.

106: Payton Mortenson, U, pin Christian Hugget 2:43

113: Donald Bothun, U, dec Colin Steuber 3-1

120: Jordan Bothun, U, pin Chris Ettesvold 1:15

126: Bailey Eickhoff, U, pin Mario Maldonado 2:37

132: Spencer Sulflow, U, pin Christopher Krenz 3:30

138: Logan Knoshal, U, pin Levi Bulfer 3:20

145: Elijah Gronewold, F, pin Mitch Kwilinski 2:37

152: Joe Weber, F, dec Mason Kwilinski 8-3

160: Keith Abraham, U, dec Tanner Lange 5-2

170: Joe Weeding, U, pin Harley Luhmann 1:24

182: Anthony Quigley, U, pin Nathan Gillis 1:24

195: Kory Brown, F, pin Markus Kranz 1:34

220: Luis Figueroa, F, pin David Nelson 4:45

285: Jake Lehmann, U, dec Adrian Moscoffian 3-0

Worthington 44, Quad County 16

Worthington never relinquished the lead and allowed Quad County to collect only one bonus points among its five wins.

Ethan Thein at 120 earned a major decision for Quad County with teammates Kirby Winson at 145, Dylan Johnson at 152, Wyatt Hatch at 160 and heavyweight Zach Fisher earning decisions.

106: Hser Eh Pwae, W, pin Jake Reiger 1:49

113: Hser Moo Pwae, W, maj Jordan Odegard 12-3

120: Ethan Thein, Q, maj Ethan Pavelko 10-1

126: Anthony Luft, W, dec Colten Specht 8-4

132: Jeffrey Camacho, W, dec Austin Friese 12-11

138: King Blanchette, W, pin Cole Hatch 2:36

145: Kirby Winson, Q, dec Cody Michelson 9-7

152: Dylan Johnson, Q, dec Vince Riley 4-0

160: Wyatt Hatch, Q, dec Torey Rogers 9-7

170: Zach Kempema, W, pin Austin Villareal 1:42

182: Blake Schroeder, W, maj Hayden Johnson 12-2

195: Peter Abraham, W, pin Zach Juarez 1:04

220: Carson Hagen, W, won by forfeit

285: Zach Fisher, Q, dec Ty Veen 6-2

Section 5A Championship

ACGC 57, Kimball 7

The Falcons won the first three matches and Kimball the following two, but it was all ACGC after that as it won nine straight to cruise into the state tournament for the second straight year.

Brennan Holien at 113, A.J. Schmidt at 120, Larry Bomstad at 145, Cody Berghuis at 182, Maverick Whitcomb at 195 and heavyweight Jordan Fester pinned their opponents for ACGC. Logan Peterson at 160 added a technical fall and Jordan Nelson a major decision at 170.

106: Rylan Molinaro, A, dec Payton Schiefelbein 5-1

113: Brennan Holien, A, pin Michael Donnay 3:03

120: A.J. Schmidt, A, pin Joseph Donnay 2:52

126: Blane Tschida, K, maj Cameron Whitcomb 19-5

132: Quinten Berres, K, dec Tyler Berghuis 5-0

138: Derek Dengerud, A, dec Brady Mehr 4-3

145: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Adam Theis 0:06

152: Sheldon Rasmussen, A, dec Matt Donnay 6-0

160: Logan Peterson, A, tcfl Markus Mehr 3:59

170: Jordan Nelson, A, maj Tanner Scheifels 11-1

182: Cody Berghuis, A, pin Brandon Loch 0:54

195: Maverick Whitcomb, A, pin Devin Kelley 5:58

220: Lucas Damm, A, dec Austin Schiefelbein 3-2

285: Jordan Fester, A, pin Austin Hentges 0:16

Section 5A Semifinals

ACGC 63, Paynesville 6

Starting with five consecutive falls, the Falcons rumbled to a 47-0 lead on the way to their 22nd dual-meet win. Brennan Holien at 113, Cameron Whitcomb at 126, Tyler Berghuis at 132, Larry Bomstad at 152, Cody Berghuis at 195 and heavyweight notched pins for ACGC, while Rylan Molinaro at 106 and A.J. Schmidt at 120 supplied technical falls.

106: Rylan Molinaro, A, tcfl Shawn Rue 15-0

113: Brennan Holien, A, pin Eric Sanquist 3:10

120: A.J. Schmidt, A, tcfl Jared Kunstleben, 17-0

126: Cameron Whitcomb, A, pin Jon Schaeffer 1:10

132: Tyler Berghuis, A, pin Nick Gabrielson 0:52

138: Jeremy Nelson, A, won by forfeit

145: Derek Dengerud, A, dec Andrew Kerzman 7-5

152: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Devin Meagher 3:25

160: Logan Peterson, A, dec Jacob Mages 6-3

170: Anthony Wendlandt, P, dec Jordan Nelson 7-1

182: Maverick Whitcomb, A, maj Mike Ludwig 11-2

195: Cody Berghuis, A, pin Brant Hubert 1:33

220: Derek Ludwig, P, dec Jordan Fester 3-1, OT

285: Lucas Damm, A, pin Mitch Floura :40

Kimball 53, Osakis 24

What To Read Next
The Cardinals fall against No. 14 Tigers, 49-38
Abby Knudsen wins the all-around as the Wildcats win 140.00-124.80 on Tuesday
Willmar swims past St. Cloud 107-71 in a Central Lakes Conference dual meet
Prep wrestling report for Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023, in west central Minnesota. Jaguars beat D-C/Litchfield, Hutchinson and Big Lake