Boys soccer roundup: Willmar takes section final rematch

Prep boys soccer report for Saturday, Sept. 10, 2022, in west central Minnesota. Cardinals beat Princeton, 4-3; Minnewaska shuts out Pelican Rapids
Boys Soccer
We are part of The Trust Project.

WILLMAR — The Willmar boys soccer team won a rematch of last season’s Section 6AA championship.

The Cardinals improved to 4-0 with a 4-3 victory over the Princeton Tigers on Saturday at Willmar High School.

“I thought we showed our poise and we never gave up,” Cardinals head coach Jeff Winter. “It’s pretty amazing because a lot of teams will fold when down like we were. We didn’t really do that and the guys knew with how well we’ve been playing that we could [comeback] and they proved it.”

In 2021, Willmar beat Princeton 4-3 in overtime to win the section. They went on to place fourth in Class AA.

On Saturday, the Cardinals conceded three goals in the first half. All three of Princeton’s goals came within 16 minutes of each other.


Willmar junior Isaac Zelaya Velasquez scored the lone goal of the first half for the Cardinals at the 24th minute mark.

Trailing 3-1 at halftime, the Cardinals turned it up a notch and got an early second-half goal from junior Adan Villarreal to cut their deficit in half.

Just minutes after junior Idd Ali’s tying goal at the 67th minute mark, Cardinals senior goalkeeper Andrew Ziebarth made a penalty kick save to keep the game knotted at 3-3.

“Andrew’s outstanding all-around and is a good leader with the guys,” Winter said of Ziebarth, who had eight saves. “He and Kadar [Muhumed] are back there running the show – making sure the team is organized. He is good at knowing when to play the ball or when his defense should.”

Around five minutes after Ziebarth’s big penalty kick save, Ali earned a penalty kick for the Cardinals.

Muhumed took the kick and found the back of the net, which proved to be the game-winning goal for WIllmar.

The Cardinals return to Central Lakes Conference play, where they have a 2-0 record, when they face Rocori at 5 p.m. Monday at Willmar High School.

“I’m proud of the way our guys played, keeping their composure,” Winter said. “I think that was one of the differences in the game. They played a full second half.”


Willmar 4, Princeton 3

Princeton (2-2)............... 3  0 — 3
Willmar (4-0)................... 1  3 — 4
FIRST HALF – P: Graham Peterson (Timothy Donnay) 21st minute … P: Preston Senne (free-kick) 23rd minute … W: Isaac Zelaya Velasquez (Miguel Altamirano Toruno) 24th minute … P: Donnay (unassisted) 37th minute
SECOND HALF – W: Adan Villarreal (unassisted) 44th minute … W: Idd Ali (Wilfredo Chavez) 67th minute … W: Kadar Muhumed (Ali) 74th minute
SHOTS ON GOAL – P: 12. W: 10
GOALIE SAVES – Princeton: Ben Kelzer, 6 saves … Willmar: Andrew Ziebarth, 8 saves

Minnewaska 1, Pelican Rapids 0

With seven minutes to play, Minnewaska got the lone goal in a victory against Section 8A rival Pelican Rapids at Glenwood.

Genaro Contreras Mondragon notched the score in the 73rd minute. The assist came from his brother, Jose. Genaro is a senior and Jose a junior.

In net, Tenzin Dahl made five saves for the Lakers’ shutout victory.

Minnewaska plays a Granite Ridge Conference match at 5:15 p.m. Tuesday at Little Falls.

Pelican Rapids (1-3)............... 0  0 — 0
Minnewaska (2-4)................... 0  1 — 1
FIRST HALF – No goals
SECOND HALF – M: Genaro Contreras Mondragon (Jose Contreras Mondragon), 73rd minute
SHOTS ON GOAL – PR: 5. M: 10
GOALIE SAVES – PR: Arturo Zavala, 9 saves … M: Tenzin Dahl, 5 saves

More soccer coverage:
Recent soccer coverage from west central Minnesota.
Willmar senior Kadar Muhumed named 2022's Mr. Soccer for Class AA.

What to read next
Behind sophomore guard’s 36 points, Warriors romp past Sleepy Eye, 70-49
The Storm beat host Marshall 5-3 in the Marshall Thanksgiving Classic. And, River Lakes opens its season with a 7-2 loss at Coon Rapids.
Warriors roll past Sleepy Eye St. Mary's 80-40 in their season-opener behind 30 points from Lainey Braulick
Athletes from BBE, MACCRAY, Montevideo, Paynesville, Willmar and YME lead this year's squad.