Tribune Notebook: MACCRAY star makes all-tourney team

Dreyer Homan is named to 10-person Class A state team at Target Field.

042022.S.WCT.MACCRAY Base Homan.jpg
MACCRAY's Dreyer Homan fist-bumps the first base coach after reaching base in a Camden Conference game April 20, 2022 against Central Minnesota Christian in Raymond.
Joe Brown / West Central Tribune
We are part of The Trust Project.

There was one last honor for the MACCRAY baseball team after its Class A state consolation championship last week.
Pitcher/catcher Dreyer Homan was named to the Wells-Fargo All-Tournament Team during the state championship last Friday at Target Field in Minneapolis.
Also on the team were: East Grand Forks Sacred Heart outfielder Cullen Rohrich; New York Mills' Bode Roberts, Jonah Johnson and Jacob Guck, Randolph's Andrew Jenkins, Will Baldus and Jacob Weckop; and Hayfield's Karver Heydt, Nolan Klocke, Kobe Foster and Easton Fritcher.
Randolph won the state Class A title by beating Hayfield, 2-1. It was a rematch of last year's state championship that was won by Hayfield.
New York Mills beat East Grand Forks Sacred Heart for third place and MACCRAY beat New Ulm Cathedral for fifth.
Fairmont beat Roseau 7-0 for the Class AA title and Benilde-St. Margaret's knocked off Mankato West 4-3 for the AAA championship. Alexandria took third in AAA.
In Class AAAA, Stillwater beat Farmington 8-1 for the title. Sartell wound up sixth, losing to Park of Cottage Grove 5-2 in the consolation championship, making Alex and the Sabres two Central Lakes Conference teams placing at state.

Working state as an ump

Dustin Overcash, manager of the Willmar Rails amateur baseball team, again got to work the state high school tournament last week. Overcash worked the state Class AAAA semifinals at CHS Field in St. Paul. In 2021, Overcash worked the championship at Target Field in Minneapolis.

Town Ball Tour

Fox9 News is making its way to the Paynesville Baseball Park next week as part of the station's Town Ball Tour. Fox9 News will broadcast live from Paynesville beginning at 4 p.m. Wednesday, June 29.
Fox9 News is expected to do live updates at 5 p.m., 5:30 p.m., 6 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. The station has gone around the state in the summer for weekly shows from around the state.
The schedule incluees the Paynesville13-and-under Babe Ruth team plays Albany on the Paynesville High School Junior Varsity Field. At 4:30 p.m. at the Paynesville Baseball Park, the Paynesville 15U Babe Ruth team plays Albany. And at 7:15 p.m., the Paynesville Pirates amateur baseball team plays the New Munich Silver Streaks.
There will be between-inning fun and entertainment as well as a Dunk the Pirate Dunk Tank promotion.

Ms. Softball

Sydney Schwartz of Chanhassen has been named the 2022 PlayBall! Minnesota Ms. Softball winner. Schwartz, who is from Victoria, won 21` games and struck out 225 batters with a 1.42 ERA in 148-1/3 innings. She also batted .565 with 13 home runs for the Storm, leading them to back-to-back state tournament appearances. She is a University of Minnesota Recruit.

Mr. Baseball

Maddox Mihalakis, an infielder from Hopkins, has been named the 2022 PlayBall! Minnesota Mr. Baseball winner. Mihalakis is a University of Arizona recruit.


060622.S.WCT.Willmar base Ian Koosman grounder.JPG
Willmar senior shortstop Ian Koosman looks a grounder into his glove during a Section 8AAA playoff game against Alexandria on Saturday, June 4, 2022 at Dick Putz Field in St. Cloud.
Joe Brown / West Central Tribune

All-Star series

Willmar's Ian Koosman and Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg's Alex Call were selected to the South All-Stars team for the 2022 Play Ball! Minnesota All-Star Series.
The South team is one of six selected for the annual series played Friday and Saturday at the Chaska Athletic Park.
Koosman is a shortstop/pitcher for Willmar headed to Scottsdale Community College in Arizona. Call is a pitcher/center fielder who has committed to Bethel University.

What to read next
Willmar's Kessa Mara was a captain in three sports and the Minnesota State High School League's AAA Award winner of 2021-22
Blaine Fischer was a big part of one of the most successful school years in boys sports in BBE history, earning him the Hengstler-Ranweiler Award
It's a special group of three-sport stars from CMCS, BOLD, Willmar and MACCRAY
Athletes from ACGC, BBE, CMCS, KMS, MACCRAY and Willmar are finalists for the 62nd annual award.