Swoboda, Johnson lead All-State softball selections


Willmar's Jordyn Swoboda and Hannah Johnson lead a list of 10 area players named to 2018 All-State Softball Teams by the Minnesota Fastpitch Coaches Association.

Swoboda and Johnson both were selected as Class AAA All-State second-teamers after leading the Cardinals to an 18-7 record and to the Section 5AAA championship game.

Swoboda led the Cardinals with a .476 batting average and nine doubles, and she finished the season with 36 runs scored, 16 stolen bases in 17 attempts and 13 runs batted in.

Johnson hit .456 with a team-high six home runs, 28 RBIs and a 0.81 OPS, and she scored 28 runs.

Swoboda also played in the MFCA All-Star Series games on June 10 at Caswell Park in North Mankato. She was one of 96 players out of the more that 15,000 players in the state selected to play in the series games.

In Class AA, Litchfield's Jasmin Estrada was named to the All-State first team and New London-Spicer's Courtney Hanson was a AA second-teamer. ACGC's Rylie Wilner was named an All-State Honorable Mention.

In Class A, KMS' Katie Krieger and Lac qui Parle Valley's Haley Wollschlager were named to the All-State first team, and KMS' Morgan Lesteberg, BOLD's Taylor Sagedahl and LQPV's Kelsea Lund were named All-State Honorable Mention.