Willmar wrestling notches 7th straight state appearance

MOORHEAD -- It came down to the final match of the night, but the Willmar wrestling team earned its seventh consecutive trip to the state tournament in dramatic fashion on Saturday.


MOORHEAD - It came down to the final match of the night, but the Willmar wrestling team earned its seventh consecutive trip to the state tournament in dramatic fashion on Saturday.

Andrew Reigstad played the role of the hero on Saturday with a 3-1 decision at 285 pounds, lifting the Cardinals to the a 31-30 win over Bemidji in the Section 8AAA championship match.

The second-seeded Lumberjacks won in eight of the 14 weight classes to nearly pull off the upset of top-seed Willmar. The Cardinals were able to muster up enough points from their six wins, however, with each Willmar win up until Reigstad's decision either coming by technical fall or pin.

Israel Navarro got Willmar on the board at 120 with a pin in just 23 seconds, tying the score at six after two Bemidji wins to open the match.

Clay Carlson gave the Cardinals their first lead at 132 with a technical fall and Cael Carlson followed that up with a pin to put Willmar up 17-9.


Bemidji battled back with three consecutive decisions to take a one-point lead before Lincoln Shinn won by technical fall at 170 and Kaden Streed pinned his man at 182. Willmar led by 10 points with just three weight classes to go, needing just one more decision to clinch the title.

Peter Moen and Chase Smith, however, pinned a pair of Cardinals to turn the tides.

Willmar trailed by two points entering the final match of the night-and possibly the Cardinals' season as a team.

Reigstad, wrestling up a weight class, was there to save the day, battling for a tight 3-1 decision to send Willmar ot the Xcel Energy Center on March 1.

Section 8AAA


Willmar 31, Bemidji 30

106: Seth Newby, B, dec. Caden Carlson 8-4


113: Bryce Golden, B, dec. Jack Roehl 2-1

120: Israel Navarro, W, pin Cale Newby 0:23

126: Joe Hudson, B, dec. Josh Miley 4-2

132: Clay Carlson, W, tech fall Jon Solum 25-10

138: Cael Carlson, W, pin Clay Olsen 1:38

145: Nate Golden, B, dec. Grant Deegan 6-2

152: Colton Hinrichs, B, dec. Bryce Erickson 8-4

160: Chance Hinrichs, B, dec. Ethan Roux 3-2 TB


170: Lincoln Shinn, W, tech fall Nic Geiger 16-0

182: Kaden Streed, W, pin Ryan Yang 4:13

195: Peter Moen, B, pin Josiah Swanson 3:00

220: Chase Smith, B, pin Dylan Saue 2:32

285: Andrew Reigstad, W, dec. Hunter Schoenborn 3-1


Willmar 56, Little Falls 18

106: Caden Carlson, W, pin Calvin Sherwood 5:25

113: Jack Roehl, W, won by forfeit

120: Israel Navarro, W, pin Trent Krupke 0:37

126: Josh Miley, W, pin Dakota Kern 0:30

132: Clay Carlson, W, tech fall Simon Pantzke 24-7

138: Cael Carlson, W, pin Dakota Kern 1:10

145: Gabe Nagel, L, dec. Grant Deegan 7-0

152: Simon Bryce, L dec. Bryce Erickson 8-2

160: Ethan Roux, W, pin Francis Houdek 1:30

170: Grant Litke, L, pin Kaden Streed 2:00

182: Lincoln Shinn, W, pin Charles Steadman 0:41

195: Sam Nagel, L, pin Josiah Swanson 0:41

220: Andrew Reigstad, W, pin Luke Venske 2:53

285: Charlie Farhat, W, dec. Ryan Graves 5-2


Willmar 58, Sartell 12

106: Dylan Enriquez, S, dec. Caden Carlson 10-7

113: Jack Roehl, W, pin Ashton Lipinski 0:56

120: Israel Navarro, W, maj dec. Jackson Penk 14-4

126: Nick Pelach, S, dec. Alex Backes 11-4

132: Clay Carlson, W, pin Patrick Hesse 2:39

138: Cael Carlson, W, pin Dylan Joyce 1:54

145: Grant Deegan, W, dec. Sam Fernholz 7-1

152: Bryce Erickson, W, pin Avery Kouba 4:42

160: Ethan Roux, W, pin Dylan Gerdes 2:20

170: Kaden Streed, W, pin Cody Neitzke 0:21

182: Lincoln Shinn, W, pin Matthew Lindstrom 0:27

195: Josiah Swanson, W, dec. Jack Engle 9-2

220: Cole Fibranz, S, pin Dylan Saue 0:18

285: Charlie Farhat, W, won by forfeit

Section 6AA


Foley 29, Litchfield 26

Foley rallied late to secure their 11th straight trip to the Class AA state tournament and keep Litchfield short once again.

The Falcons scored the final 12 points in three weight classes, including a 4-2 decision by tiebreak in the final weight class between two of the state's best to edge the Dragons by three points.

106: Eddie Simes, L, dec Levi Jacobson 6-3

113: Nathan Garceau, F, tech fall Aryan Payne 15-0

120: Jerry Simes, L, dec Logan Thorsten 5-3

126: Ezra Kaping, L, sudden victory Cameron Kowitz 3-1

132: Afton Kaping, L, tech fall Michael Rothfork 25-10

138: John Dierkes, F, sudden victory Andrew Loch 6-4

145: Bryce Penk, L, dec Mark Dierkes 5-3

152: Mitch Rothfork, F, pin Isaac Cannon 0:24

160: Logan Nelson, L, pin Jack Wolf 1:20

170: Connor Thorsten, F, dec Dylan Madsen 14-7

182: Kal Jackman, L, dec Justin Henry 4-3

195: Hunter Gorecki, F, dec Sam Mohr 7-3

220: Saylor Schmit, F, pin Dylan Isakson 0:40

285: Mitch Trigg, F, won by tie breaker Chase Liestman 4-2


Litchfield 41, Big Lake 21

Litchfield breezed past Big Lake, the No. 3 seed in the Section 6AA tournament, to earn a spot in the finals Saturday afternoon.

Aryan Payne won by technical fall while Ezra Kaping (126), Afton Kaping (132), and Dylan Madsen (182) all finished the day with a pin.

106: Christian Noble, B, dec Eddie Simes 9-4

113: Aryan Payne, L, tech fall Dylan Krebs 18-2

120: Jerry Simes, L, dec Cade Sixberry 8-5

126: Ezra Kaping, L, pin Nick Merten 0:29

132: Afton Kaping, L, pin Lance Christensen 2:22

138: Ben Morris, B, dec Andrew Loch 9-4

145: Bryce Penk, L, dec Vince Dailey 4-2

152: Joe Morris, B, pin Isaac Cannon 0:21

160: Logan Nelson, L, won by forfeit

170: Ryan Helgoe, B, pin Logan Bailey 0:32

182: Dylan Madsen, L, pin Wil Gomez 5:20

195: Kal Jackman, L, dec Ben Beckers 3-1

220: Steven Lloyd, B, dec Dylan Isakson 3-2

285: Chase Liestman, L, dec Jackson Gardner 5-0


Litchfield 52, Dassel-Cokato 16

Litchfield started their Section 6AA effort with a resounding win over Dassel-Cokato.

Eddie Simes (106), Ezra Kaping (126) and Afon Kaping (132) each won by technical fall. Jerry Simes (120), Logan Nelson (160), Kal Jackman (182), Dylan Isakson (220) and Chase Liestman (285) each won by fall.

106: Eddie SImes, L, tech fall Carson Amundson 16-0

113: Jude Link, D, maj dec Devin Steinhaus 16-2

120: Jerry Simes, L, pin Ben Zobel 0:51

126: Ezra Kaping, L, tech fall Noah Halonen 18-3

132: Afton Kaping, L, tech fall Will O'Brien 20-5

138: Prestin Bradley, D, dec Andrew Loch 8-6

145: Bryce Penk, L, dec Jack Selseth 5-1

152: Christian Johnson, D, pin Isaac Cannon time not available

160: Logan Nelson, L, pin Beau Nelson 0:55

170: Dylan Madsen, L, maj dec Jack Zobel 10-2

182: Kal Jackman, L, pin Jacob Schmitz 3:36

195: Josh DeBoer, D, dec Sam Mohr 9-4

220: Dylan Isakson, L, pin Jace Butcher 1:11

285: Chase Liestman, L, pin Payton Duske 1:36

Related Topics: WRESTLING
What To Read Next
The league would launch in summer 2024 and is polling interest in possible host cities.
The Tuesday, Jan. 31, game between Sioux Falls Lincoln and Watertown was forced to move after junior JT Rock broke the rim with a powerful two-handed dunk. Rock is committed to play at Iowa State.
Hull was a five-time 50-goal scorer, led the NHL in goalscoring seven times, twice won the Hart Trophy and was voted a First-Team All-Star on the left wing 10 times.
Willmar beats the Minnesota Loons 9-6 on four 3rd-period goals