Wrestling: ACGC cruises into 5A semis

GROVE CITY -- Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City used nine falls to crush Browerville/Eagle Valley 60-16 in the quarterfinals of the Section 5A tournament Tuesday.

In the clutch
Matthew Lee, right, of ACGC hooks Tylor Kent of Browerville/Eagle Valley in a cradle during their 130-pound match Tuesday at Grove City. Lee pinned Kent in 1:01. Tribune photo by T.J. Bartelt

GROVE CITY -- Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City used nine falls to crush Browerville/Eagle Valley 60-16 in the quarterfinals of the Section 5A tournament Tuesday.

Browerville/Eagle Valley had beaten Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa in the opening round to get a date with the top-seeded Falcons.

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City will meet Kimball in one semifinal Friday and Paynesville will square off against Eden Valley-Watkins in the other at 6 p.m. in Paynesville. The championship match will follow at 8 p.m.

Quarterfinals ACGC 60, Browerville/EV 16

Logan Peterson opened the dual for the Falcons with a technical fall at 103 pounds.


Browerville/Eagle Valley then got a pin and a major decision, but pins from Hayden Rouser at 125, Matt Lee at 130 and Larry Bomstad at 135 put the Falcons out front for good.

After Bomstad's victory, the Falcons got a major decision from Matt Meyer at 140, a pin from Nate Meyer at 145 and a decision from Michael Kramer at 152 before Browerville/Eagle Valley would win another match.

The Falcons closed out the match with pins from Ryan Larson at 171, James Nelson at 189, Lucas Damm at 215 and Dylan Nelson at heavyweight.

103: Logan Peterson, A, tcfl Adam Sutlief 16-1

112: Randy Shamp, B, pin Robert Rasmussen 5:35

119: Travis Borchert, B, maj Jesse Whitcomb 12-2

125: Hayden Rouser, A, pin Preston Insfeld 1:51

130: Matt Lee, A, pin Tylor Kent 1:01


135: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Brent Sadlo 1:05

140: Matt Meyer, A, maj Brad Schettler 13-4

145: Nate Meyer, A, pin Clayton Noland 2:35

152: Michael Kramer, A, dec Nate Becker 6-3

160: Lucas Kaline, B, pin Jordon Fester 1:57

171: Ryan Larson, A, pin Justin Bolin 3:03

189: James Nelson, A, pin Dominic Eckel 2:43

215: Lucas Damm, A, pin Jacob Schauer 3:52


285: Dylan Nelson, A, pin Nick Panteka :50

(At Paynesville)

Quarterfinals Paynesville 37, Holdingford 19

Holdingford led 9-6 before a decision at 130 from Clay Spanier and a major decision at 135 from Josh Hiepler gave Paynesville a lead it would not relinquish.

Devin Meagher at 112 and Aaron Gehrke at 145 would notch the only pins for the Bulldogs as Paynesville won three matches by decision and another two by Holdingford forfeits.

Eric Wolbeck at 160 and Andrew Moser at 215 gave Paynesville 12 points with Holdingford forfeiting.

103: Adam Lane, H, dec Trent Piepenburg 5-1

112: Devin Meagher, P, pin Kyle Gerads 1:00


119: Derek Scott, H, dec Cole Woehler 2-0

125: Mike Darmot, H, dec Trevor Spanier 7-3

130: Clay Spanier, P, dec Luke Doll 7-4

135: Josh Hiepler, P, md Kyle Kostad 13-2

140: Victor Lumely, H, dec Brent Schlangen 13-6

145: Aaron Gehrke, P, pin Jordan Gombs 4:56

152: Bryce Feia, H, dec Justin Wendlandt 7-6

160: Eric Wolbeck, P, won by forfeit


171: Matt Doom, P, dec Kyle Jarnot 8-4

189: Michael Doom, P, dec Brady Hedlund 9-2

215: Andrew Moser, P, won by forfeit

285: John Scepaniak, H, md Dominick Platow 10-0

What To Read Next
Get Local