Wrestling: Dawson-Boyd/LQPV reaches 3AA-North final

MARSHALL -- Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley advanced to the Section 3AA-North championship match after upending Marshall 66-9 Tuesday in the quarterfinals.

MARSHALL -- Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley advanced to the Section 3AA-North championship match after upending Marshall 66-9 Tuesday in the quarterfinals.

Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley will meet Wabasso/Red Rock Central Friday at 6 p.m. at Tracy-Milroy-Balaton High School. The section final will also be in Tracy on Friday and will be played out at 7:30 p.m.

Marshall beat Montevideo 59-24 and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton upended Morris/Hancock 46-21 in the the first round Tuesday.

First Round

Marshall 59, Montevideo 24


Spencer Sulflow at 103 pounds, Jake Bednar at 112 and Justin Mortenson at 135 all got pins for Montevideo.

103: Spencer Sulflow, Mon, pin Riley Roth 5:17

112: Jake Bednar, Mon, pin Matt Facille 2:41

119: Taylor Beens, Mar, pin Mitchell Kwilinski 1:33

125: Neil Citrowske, Mar, tcfl Austin Hiepler 19-4

130: Derek Varpness, Mar, pin Mason Kwilinski 1:54

135: Justin Mortenson, Mon, pin Drew Tykinski 2:10

140: Thomas Stoeckman, Mon, won by forfeit


145: Eli Louwagie, Mar, pin Joe Bednar 1:15

152: Campbell Hofstetter, Mar, pin Isaac Sulflow 3:28

160: Stephan Campbell, Mar, pin Tanner Lindemann 1:03

171: Stephen Womack, Mar, won by forfeit

189: Jared Holland, Mar, pin Colton Anderson 1:27

215: Justin Varpness, Mar, won by forfeit

285: Austin Nath, Mar, pin Justin Solting 5:21

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 46, Morris/Hancock 21


Tanner Berning at 160 pounds and Zach Gibson at heavyweight got pins for Morris/Hancock.

103: Brandon Schroeder, T, pin Evan Nelson :57

112: Austin Peterson, T, pin Seth Nelson 1:30

119: Joe Ruppert, T, dec Myles Smith 13-8

125: Cole Christian, T, won by default over Tony Domnick

130: Zach Campbell, T, pin Jordon Thooft :34

135: Zach Iverson, T, pin Blaine Hills 1:13

140: Eric Goette, M, dec Erik Cooreman 6-1


145: Tim Ostby, M, dec Jared Towne 7-6

152: Ian Mariner, T, dec Wade Feuchtenberger 5-0

160: Tanner Berning, M, pin Marcus Stefanic 3:47

171: Noah Vannevet, T, maj Ryan Beyer 12-0

189: Matt Wakefield, T, pin Joel Harrison 1:28

215: Jeff Knobloch, M, dec Andrew Martinez 6-2

285: Zach Gibson, M, pin Levi Brummer 3:47



DB/LQPV 66, Marshall 9

Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley won the first three matches before Marshall got back-to-back wins.

The dual then ended with DB/LQPV winning the last nine matches.

John Weeding at 103 pounds, Boe Stensrud at 119, Sam Haas at 152, Josh Staab at 171, J.D. Struxness at 189, Brandon Schmitt at 215 and Christian Olson at heavyweight all collected pins for DB/LQPV.

103: John Weeding, D, pin Riley Roth :35

112: Dylan Croatt, D, won by forfeit

119: Boe Stensrud, D, pin Taylor Beens 3:59

125: Neil Citrowske, M, pin Delaney Brown 5:27


130: Derek Varpness, M, dec Joe Weeding 12-11

135: Ryan Swenson, D, won by forfeit

140: Lane Mitchell, D, won by forfeit

145: Jake Bothun, D, dec Eli Louwagie 11-5

152: Sam Haas, D, pin Campbell Hofstetter 1:16

160: Codie Weeding, D, maj Stephen Campbell 16-7

171: Josh Staab, D, pin Stephen Womack 3:34

189: J.D. Struxness, D, pin Jared Holland 1:41

215: Brandon Schmitt, D, pin Justin Varpness 1:34

285: Christian Olson, D, pin Austin Nath 1:18

What To Read Next
Get Local