Wrestling roundup: No. 5 KMS Fighting Saints pin No. 4 Paynesville Bulldogs

Fighting Saints move into 5A semifinals with 49-27 win

PAYNESVILLE — The Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg wrestling team pulled off a mild upset in the Section 5A team tournament Tuesday.

The fifth-seeded Fighting Saints beat fourth-seeded Paynesville, 49-27.

KMS advances to the Section 6A semifinals.

The semifinals are 6 p.m. Friday at Minnewaska High School with the semifinal winners meeting at 8 p.m. for a berth in the state tournament Feb. 27 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

In the victory, KMS used forfeits at 195 and 220 pounds along with pins by Chase Magaard (106 pounds), Coy Gunderson (113), Will Magaard (138), Collin Johnson (152) and Rick Jones (170).


KMS wrestles top-seeded Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville in the semifinals. LPGE/B beat Benson 71-9 to advance..

Section 5A
KMS 49,
Paynesville 27

106: Chase Magaard, KMS, pinned Brandon Hess, 1:33
113: Coy Gunderson, KMS pinned Preston Welling, :27
120: Rene Quintanilla-Hernandez, P, pinned Ely Johnson 1:46
126: Craig Schmitz, P, dec. Jett Olson, 2-1
132: Hunter Wilts, KMS, Jose Anaya, 7-4
138: Will Magaard, KMS, pinned Aaron Mages, :52
145: Riley messer, P, pinned Luke Froelich, :40
152: Collin Johnson, KMS, pinned Peyton Hemmesch, 5:13
160: Masyn Olons, KMS, major dec. Trenton LeClaire, 9-1
170: Rick Jones, KMS, pinned Grant Wendlandt, 1:50
182: Weston Roberg, P, pinned Brandon Kallstrom, 3:30
195: Marc Collins, KMS won by forfeit
220: Brody Forsell, KMS, won by forfeit
285: Brandon Schlangen, P, pinned Jason Jones, :40

Minnewaska 67,

Winning 12 of 14 matches, third-seeded Minnewaska advanced to the Section 5A finals with a victory against sixth-seeded BOLD Tuesday in Glenwood.

Mason Schiffler (113 pounds), David Lilenthal (132), Keygan Cruz (145), Mason Blair (152), Tyson Meyer (170), Nathan Rankin (182), Tyler VanLuik (195) and Dylan Jergenson (220) all won by fall for the Lakers.

Anthony Maher scored a major decision at 160 for the Warriors.

Minnewaska will face second-seeded Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa at 6 p.m. Friday in Glenwood.

106: Nick Ankeny, M, maj dec Brady Kiecker, 13-2
113: Mason Schiffler, M, pinned Gavin Hammerschmidt, 0:31
120: Jacob Blair, M, dec Austin Kiecker, 7-6
126: Easton McCrory, M, won by forfeit
132: David Lilenthal, M, pinned Rylan Gass, 1:18
138: Chase Boelke, M, won by forfeit
145: Keygan Cruz, M, pinned Neil Young, 3:55
152: Mason Blair, M, pinned Jesse Manderschied, 1:41
160: Anthony Maher, BOLD, maj dec Ryan VanLuik, 9-0
170: Tyson Meyer, M, pinned Jordan Amberg, 3:39
182: Nathan Rankin, M, pinned Blake Flann, 1:15
195: Tyler VanLuik, M, pinned Gavin Moudry, 0:19
220: Dylan Jergenson, M, pinned Sheldon Enriquez, 1:02
285: Brady Ridler, BOLD, dec Jakob Swalla, 11-4

BBE 71,
Benson 9

No. 2 BBE hammered No. 7 Benson in a Section 5A quarterfinal match at BBE.


The Jaguars got pins from their first six weights, a forfeit, a technical fall by Canon Swanson at 152, then two more pins and a couple more forfeits.

Benson’s wins came from Thomas Dineen at 182 and Aiden Syltie at 285.

106: Wyatt Engen, BBE, pinned Ed Wah, 0:18
113: Walker Bents, BBE, pinned Macoy Kurkosky, 2:48
120: Ryan Jensen, BBE, pinned Reese Larson, 2:48
126: Tyler Jensen, BBE, pinned Alex Whitcup, 1:04
132: Blaine Fischer, BBE, pinned Colby Hogrefe, 2:16
138: Maximus Hanson, BBE, pinned Ayden Ehmcke, 1:07
145: Taiton Linder, BBE, won by forfeit
152: Canon Swanson, BBE, tech fall Teegan Hogrefe, 16-0 1:53
160: Evan Young, BBE, pinned Mason Abner, 4:56
170: Dylan Kampsen, BBE, pinned Nathan Bolduc, 1:03
182: Thomas Dineen, Ben, pinned Cooper Wold, 3:15
195: Michael Doubek, BBE, won by forfeit
220: Mark Jenniges, BBE, won by forfeit
285: Alden Syltie, Ben, dec Bryce Feuerhake, 2-1

Benson 54,
Ortonville 21

Seventh-seeded Benson advanced in Section 5A by beating 10th-seeded Ortonville at Long Prairie.

Jaiden Zimmerman (132 pounds) and Alden Syltie (285) each won by fall for the Braves.

106: Brooklyn Conrad, O, dec Ed Wah, 7-5
113: Macoy Kurkosky, B, dec Ahtony Eustice, 12-5
120: Reese Larson, B, pinned Gavin Klefsaas, 0:29
126: Deaven Boots, O, pinned Colby Hogrefe, 1:17
132: Jaiden Zimmerman, B, pinned Brayden Satter, 0:27
138: Austin Eastman, O, pinned Ayden Ehmcke, 2:39
145: Carter Rodriguez, B, won by forfeit
152: Teegan Hogrefe, B, won by forfeit
160: Mason Abner, B, dec Thomas Eustice, 5-3 (sudden victory)
170: Nathan Bolduc, B, won by forfeit
182: Thomas Dineen, B, won by forfeit
195: Jake Ness, B, won by forfeit
220: Nathan Ehrenberg, O, pinned Jack Storlien, 0:30
285: Alden Syltie, B, pinned James Conrad, 0:52

LPGE/B 74,
Quad County 0

Top-seeded and top-ranked Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville shut out ninth-seeded Quad County in the Section 5A quarterfinals in Long Prairie.

106: Braden Thom, LPGE/B, pinned Tarrick Rupp, 0:55
113: Cael Lorentz, LPGE/B, tech fall Hunter Wilke, 21-6
120: Justin Crandall, LPGE/B, maj dec Jaiden Jimenez, 14-1
126: Carter Meiners, LPGE/B, pinned Luke Kluver, 3:19
132: Landon Gode, LPGE/B, tech fall Abel Chaparro, 20-5
138: Mason Gode, LPGE/B, pinned Caleb Hoff, 0:46
145: Nye Becker, LPGE/B, pinned Richard Vaughn, 3:48
152: Ted Stacey, LPGE/B, pinned Javier Jackson, 3:46
160: Riley Thom, LPGE/B, dec Jack Howard, 3-0
170: Gabe Pesta, LPGE/B, won by forfeit
182: Caleb Pesta, LPGE/B, won by forfeit
195: Hans Holmquist, LPGE/B, won by forfeit
220: Levi Line, LPGE/B, won by forfeit
285: Trey Lancaster, LPGE/B, dec Austin Sweep, 3-1

Quad County 42,
Osakis 25

No. 9 Quad County pulled off the mild upset of No. 8 Osakis in the Section 5A play-in match at Long Prairie.


Quad County got wins from Jaiden Jimenez (120), Luke Kluver (126), Richard Vaughn (145), Javier Jackson (152), Jack Howard (160), Jaselen Jimenez (195), Evan Friese (220) and Austin Sweep (285).

106: Jacob Taplin, O, maj dec Tarrick Rupp, 9-1
113: Logan Grove, O, pinned Hunter Wilke, 5:09
120: Jaiden Jimenez, OC, won by forfeit
126: Luke Kluver, QC, pinned Gaven Cimbura, 1:01
132: Nathan Kulzer, O, dec Abel Chaparro, 13-6
138: Carsten Jacobson, O, pinned Caleb Hoff, 3:56
145: Richard Vaughn, QC, dec Tyson Hagedon, 4-0
152: Javier Jackson, QC, dec Kale Drevlow, 7-3
160: Jack Howard, QC, pinned Kaleb Helberg, 0:58
170: Double forfeit
182: Nathan Bjerk, O, won by forfeit
195: Jaselen Jimenez, QC, won by forfeit
220: Even Friese, QC, won by forfeit
285: Austin Sweep, QC, won by forfeit
What To Read Next
The Otters slow down the Cardinals, 4-0
Prep hockey report for Monday, Jan. 30, 2023, in west central Minnesota. Ben Swanson makes 25 saves in Fergus Falls’ 4-0 Central Lakes Conference win at Willmar
Prep boys basketball report for Jan. 30, 2023, in west central Minnesota. Cardinals shoot 38.1% from the field compared to the Tigers' 59.3%
Girls basketball report for Monday, Jan. 30, 2023, in west central Minnesota. Bluejays grab a 29-19 halftime lead on their way to the Camden North win over the Fighting Saints