Weather Forecast


Local Roundup: Falcon wrestlers soar back to state

It's been a few years, but ACGC is heading back to the Class A State Tournament.

The perennial power is back after a period of dormancy with a close 28-25 win over Sibley East in the Section 4A final Friday night. Tanner Berghuis scored a 6-4 decision victory at 220 pounds to clinch the victory and help the Falcons back to the state tournament for the first time since 2015.

ACGC opened up a 12-0 run in the first three weight classes and used four decisions down the stretch to keep up with the lead and win.

Section 4A

ACGC 28, Sibley East 25

106: Kelvin Andrade-Ponce, A, dec Drayden Morton 1-0

113: Jake Mortensen, A, dec Derek Steele 5-1

120: Ramzee Molinaro, A, pin Tucker Hendrycks 5:24

126: Dayne Morton, S, pin Logan Straumann 3:16

132: Hayden Straumann, A, maj dec Ben Klaers 13-1

138: Lincoln Carpenter, S, dec Skyer Powers 4-1

145: Chase Arndt, A, dec Colton Harens 9-5

152: Tommy Wentzlaff, S, dec Levi Lund 7-1

160: Logan Tesch, S, dec Taylor Fester 8-2

170: Cullen Lewis, A, dec Tim Lewis 12-5

182: CJ Toedter, A, dec Thomas Battcher 4-2

195: Andrew Schauer, S, maj dec Logan Sherwood 13-0

220: Tanner Berghuis, A, dec Ramiro Rivera 6-4

285: Jadan Podratz, S, pin Jordan Schultz 1:50

ACGC 53, HLWW 13

ACGC overpowered Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, winning the opening 27 points in the Section 4A semifinal.

Brady Holien (106), Jake Mortensen (120), Ramzee Molinaro (126), Hayden Straumann (132), and Taylor Fester (160) all finished with pins for the Falcons.

106: Brady Holien, A, pin Brandon Knott 0:52

113: Kelvin Andrade-Ponce, A, dec Mitchell Mallak 2-1

120: Jake Mortensen, A, pin Casey Diers 0:37

126: Ramzee Molinaro, A, pin Eric Williams 6:37

132: Hayden Straumann, A, pin Isaac Busse 3:28

138: Collin Boese, H, dec Skye Powers 3-2

145: Chase Arndt, A, pin Remington Albright 0:22

152: Levi Lund, A, won by forfeit

160: Taylor Fester, A, pin Liam Eberhard 0:54

170: Ryan Tuchtenhagen, H, maj dec Jesus Cardenas 12-3

182: CJ Toedter, A, dec Joseph Schanus 11-6

195: Danny Mosford, H, dec Travys Lawver 3-0

220: Tanner Berghuis, A, won by forfeit

285: Elijah Riemer, H, dec Jonathon Behm 6-2

ACGC 72, EVW 3

ACGC won all but one match by a commanding force in their opening round of the Section 4A tournament, following an opening round bye.

106: Kelvin Andrade-Ponce, A, maj dec Gavin Mathies 13-4

113: Jake Mortensen, A, pin Jackson Geislinger 1:05

120: Ramzee Molinaro, A, tech fall Sam Nistler 15-0

126: Taylor Ludwig, E, dec Hayden Straumann 4-3

132: Skye Powers, A, dec Trevyn Ludwig 6-0

138: Jaxon Behm, A, pin Jared Carlson 4:37

145: Chase Arndt, A, pin Zach Nistler 4:37

152: Taylor Fester, A, pin Rylan Schueller 3:41

160: Levi Lund, A, pin Carther Mathies 0:36

170: Cullen Lewis, A, pin Tristan Wilson 0:44

182: CJ Toedter, A, won by forfeit

195: Logan Sherwood, A, won by forfeit

220: Tanner Berghuis, A, pin Ethan Kay 0:49

285: Jordan Schultz, A, pin Peyton Thul 0:50

Section 5A

LPGE/Browerville 42, KMS 15

KMS battled to earn a spot in the Section 5A final but Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville won a handful of swing matches to keep the Saints from a third-straight state tournament appearance.

The Eagles scored the final 24 points to ensure the victory.

106: Carter Meiners, L, maj dec Coy Gunderson 9-1

113: Justin Crandall, L, pin Chase Magaard 1:16

120: Will Magaard, K, dec Landon Gode 6-2

126: Mason Gode, L, dec Jared Carlson 4-1

132: Jonathan Tostenson, K, maj dec Nye Becker 16-5

138: Ted Stacey, L, tech fall Luke Hoefer 17-2

145: Caleb Collins, K, dec Thomas Pesta 8-4

152: Dylan Rudningen, K, tech fall Austin Carr 20-5

160: Caleb Pesta, L, dec Richard Jones 3-2

170: Dalton Butler, L, pin Ethan Peters 2:00

182: Keegan Cavallero, L, dec Michael Doubek 6-2

195: Levi Line, L, dec Marc Collins 9-6

220: Hans Holmquist, L, dec Ryan Torkelson 6-5

285: Devin Lange, L, won by forfeit

KMS 31, BBE 30

Down by five points with three weight classes to go, KMS knew they needed big points down the stretch against BBE in Friday's semifinal match. Marc Collins and Ryan Torkelson stepped up and provided the finishing blow.

Collins and Torkelson each won by fall to secure a victory and secure a spot in the final with Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville.

The semifinal promised to be a tight battle between area teams and both the Jaguars and Saints lived up to the promise.

106: Coy Gunderson, K, dec Walker Bents 9-3

113: Will Magaard, K, maj dec Blaine Fischer 21-7

120: Ryan Young, B, tech fall Ely Johnson 16-1

126: Canon Swanson, B, dec Jared Carlson 7-3

132: Tyler Bents, B, dec Jonathan Tostenson 7-3

138: Dylan Kampsen, B, maj dec Luke Hoefer 8-0

145: Caleb Collins, K, pin Taiton Linder 1:12

152: Dylan Rudningen, K, dec Isaiah Gilbert 5-2

160: Adam Jaeger, B, pin Brandon Kallstrom 5:06

170: Richard Jones, K, dec Mark Jenniges 4-3

182: Trevor Kern, B, dec Michael Doubek 7-2

195: Marc Collins, K, pin Isaac Kampsen 0:29

220: Ryan Torkelson, K, pin Seth Roering 2:43

285: Joseph Thompson, B, pin Brody Forsell 3:12

LPGE/Browerville 50, Minnewaska 17

Minnewaska's season came to an end against eventual Section 5A champions Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville.

Mason Blair (138) won by fall and Tyler VanLuik excelled with a major decision victory at 195 pounds.

106: Carter Meiners, L, dec Easton McCrory 9-3

113: Justin Crandall, L, maj dec Dalton Friedrichs 12-0

120: Landon Gode, L, pin Caden Koziol 1:34

126: Mason Gode, L, dec Max Reichmann 8-1

132: Nye Becker, L, maj dec Mateo Arredando 13-4

138: Mason Blair, M, pin Ted Stacey 0:27

145: Austin Carr, L, won by forfeit

152: Thomas Pesta, L, pin Ryan VanLuik 2:47

160: Grant Hendren, M, maj dec Caleb Pesta 13-5

170: Tyson Meyer, M, dec Dalton Butler 5-1

182: Keegan Cavallero, L, pin Tanner Steffen 0:57

195: Tyler VanLuik, M, maj dec Levi Line 11-3

220: Devin Lange, L, pin Jakob Swalla 1:41

285: Tate Urman, L, pin John Helander 2:11

NA3HL Hockey

New Ulm 7, Willmar 2

Willmar trailed by just a goal midway through the second period but the WarHawks surrendered four-straight goals and lost to New Ulm on Friday at the Willmar Civic Center.

Jacob Berkowitz scored on an assist from Riley Dixon in the first period, and WarHawks teammate Brandon Holt scored at 12:00 of the second period on assists from Berkowitz and Keegan Bauman to cut the Steel's lead to 3-2.

But New Ulm rattled off four goals in a row to seal the deal.

The WarHawks are off Saturday before playing host to Alexandria at 2:30 p.m. Sunday at the Willmar Civic Center.

New Ulm 2 3 2 — 7

Willmar 1 1 0 — 2

FIRST PERIOD — N: Zach Heiser (Kirk Coppock, Alex Nagel) 11:20 ... W: Jacob Berkowitz (Riley Dixon) 14:22 ... N: Nagel (Heiser) 17:53 pp

SECOND PERIOD — N: Jack Parks (Jimmy Miller) 11:06 ... W: Brandon Holt (Berkowitz, Keegan Bauman) 12:00 ... N: Austin Langworthy (Nagel, Tom Reilly) 16:21 ... N: Reilly (Jarrett Cammarata, Hunter Johnson) 16:51

THIRD PERIOD — N: Luc Kreuser (Ryan Smith, Max Kjome) 0:15 ... N: Nagel (Brandon Mehlhop, Kirk Coppock) 15:31

GOALIE SAVES/SHOTS — New Ulm: Drew Schenkenberg 25/27 ... Willmar: Kaden Ericson 24/31